Bec CC (50% veterans)(inc. VTTA sry/ssx)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 16-Aug-20
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: g25/93
  • Closing Date: 04-Aug-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

McNamara and Drake battle to victories in Bec CC 25

  • Published: 16 Aug 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Simon McNamara ( snatched victory from his brother by 17 seconds in the Bec CC 25, while Becca Drake (Bella Velo CC) was a convincing victor in the women’s event.

A chain slip for Christopher McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) opened the door for his brother Simon to clinch his second open victory of the season.

Simon McNamara, who also won the Sussex CA 30 last month, took full advantage of his brother’s misfortune to clock a winning time of 50 minutes and 58 seconds.

The G25/93 course sees riders start from north of Steyning before traveling north on the B2135 passing through Ashurst and Partridge Green.

Riders then join the A24 and then A283 before heading down to the coastal town of Shoreham-by-Sea and making the return to the finish.

Christopher McNamara, who had beaten his brother last weekend at the Glorious Goodwood TT, had to settle for a tie for second place with Howard Shaw (trainSharp) after both riders clocked 51-15.

Meanwhile, in the women’s event Drake was in action for the second time since the re-start of races following lockdown.

After finishing fifth in the South Eastern RC 10 two weeks ago Drake took victory on this occasion clocking 1-03-34.

Nicola Spensley (Kent Velo Girls/Boys) finished second in 1-08-45 while Anita Turner (Eastbourne Rovers CC) completed the podium places in 1-17-32.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission



1 Simon McNamara ( 50:58

=2 Christopher McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) 51:15

=2 Howard Shaw (trainSharp) 51:15

4 Josh Copley (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling) 51:49

5 Matthew Smith (Team TMC) 52:11

6 Simon Skinner (Paceline RT) 53:00

7 Colin McDermott (Festival Road Club) 53:15

8 Justin Webb (VTTA London & Home Counties)   53:25

9 Robert Rollings (Lewes Wanderers CC)     53:40

10 Oliver Hurdle (University of Southampton CC) 53:45



1 Becca Drake (Bella Velo CC) 1:03:34

2 Nicola Spensley (Kent Velo Girls/Boys)     1:08:45

3 Anita Turner (Eastbourne Rovers CC) 1:17:32