Frodsham Wheelers

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 16-Mar-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 22 Miles
  • Course: d22/1
  • Closing Date: 05-Mar-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Dobson and Night fastest in Frodham Wheelers TT

  • Published: 17 Mar 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Joseph Dobson

Victories went to Joseph Dobson and Brigid Night in the Frodsham Wheelers 22-mile time trial in Cheshire on Saturday.

28-year-old Derbyshire resident Dobson, riding for Manchester BC, clocked 47-54 for the D22/1 course near Broxton, giving him the overall win by 32 seconds from Graham Kemp (Team Bottrill), while Steve Hall (Thatto Cycles RT) was three and a half minutes further back in third.

53-year-old Brigid Night (Frodsham Wheelers) took the women’s category win by exactly three minutes. Her time of 1-04-35 gave her the win over time trialling newcomer Carolyn Pollard (Chester Tri Club), with Sarah Illidge (Frodsham Wheelers) third.

The event was run on a windy D22/1 course, which took the riders from a start near Harthill, down the A41 to the northern fringes of Whitchurch before heading up the A49 and turning west back to the start area.

A healthy entry was depleted by 38 non-starters, the majority put off by the forecast, but the wind was rideable with the right wheel choice.

The promoting Frodsham Wheelers also secured the team prize with Alan Orme, Daniel Walker and Brigid Night.

Dobson’s win was his first ride on record for the 2019, but if last season is anything to go by it won’t be his last appearance on a podium.

In 2018 he was second in the Border City Wheelers 10 in August, as well as in the Buxton CC 10 in June, the Macclesfield Wheelers 25, Manchester BC 10 in April, while he won the Manchester and District TTA 10 last March.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



No    Rider       Club  Hours

1     Joseph      Dobson      Manchester Bicycle Club 47:54

2     Graham      Kemp  Team Bottrill     48:26

3     Steve Hall  Thatto Cycles Racing Team     52:08

4     Robin Green Runcorn CC  52:34

5     Matt  Stell Springfield Financial Racing Team   52:35

6     Kevin Larmer      Port Sunlight Wheelers  53:02

7     Matthew     Welsh       Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic 53:38

8     David Cuthill     North Wirral Velo 54:04

9     John  Moore Manchester Bicycle Club 54:18

10    Phillip     Warburton   Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)      54:28

11    Neil  Jones Port Sunlight Wheelers  56:37

12    Alan  Orme  Frodsham Wheelers 56:37

13    James Mackie      Port Sunlight Wheelers  57:11

14    Daniel      Walker      Frodsham Wheelers 57:37

15    Neil  Wilson      Paramount CRT     58:05

16    Dylan Roberts     Wrexham Triathlon Club  58:56

17    Luke  Taylor      Runcorn CC  58:57

18    Chris Lawson      Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic 59:39

19    Ian   Pollard     Cotswold Veldrijden     59:55

20    Dean  Smith Frodsham Wheelers 1:00:50

21    Martin      Sturge      Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic 1:02:11

22    Leigh Jones Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic 1:02:35

23    Brigid      Night Frodsham Wheelers 1:04:35

24    Andy Large Chester RC  1:06:58

25    D J   Fanning     Velo Club Melyd   1:07:01

26    Carolyn     Pollard     Chester Triathlon Club  1:07:35

27    Paul  Edwards     Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic 1:08:08

28    Sarah Illidge     Frodsham Wheelers 1:09:04

29    Julia Smith Port Sunlight Wheelers  1:09:27

30    Andy  Whitehead   Seamons CC  1:10:03

31    Mark  Taylor      Chester Triathlon Club  1:15:43


2 up result                  

1     Toby  Williams    Velotik Racing Team     49:53

      Chris       Mann  Velotik Racing Team    

2     Nick  Giles Team Poco Loco CRT      55:43

      Angelo      Derosa      Team Poco Loco CRT     

3     Richard     Elmitt      Wrexham RC  1:01:31

      Jan   Kardasz     Wrexham RC 

4     Martin      Shepherd    Rochdale Tri Club 1:02:05

      Sam   Shepherd    Rochdale Tri Club


Ladies Race                  

1     Brigid      Night Frodsham Wheelers 1:04:35

2     Carolyn     Pollard     Chester Triathlon Club  1:07:35

3     Sarah Illidge     Frodsham Wheelers 1:09:04

4     Julia Smith Port Sunlight Wheelers  1:09:27



1     Alan  Orme  Frodsham Wheelers 56:37

1     Daniel      Walker      Frodsham Wheelers 57:37

1     Brigid      Night Frodsham Wheelers 1:04:35