Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)(WCTTCA 4 of 11)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Jun-19
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: D10/1
  • Closing Date: 21-May-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Williams and Callander fight to victories in Liverpool Phoenix CC 10

  • Published: 02 Jun 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Phil Williams

Phil Williams (Liverpool Phoenix CC) retained his title at the Liverpool Phoenix CC 10 after beating his rivals by almost a minute, while Rhona Callander (Team Breeze) took the women’s victory in the event near Bickerstaffe, Lancashire.

Williams, aged 33 and from Liverpool, clocked a winning time of 19 minutes and 18 seconds which was four seconds slower than his winning time in the same event last season.

Despite very little wind, muggy conditions made it hard work for the 79 riders who competed on the D10/1 course.

The flat course sees riders tackle a Y shaped route, heading south from Bickerstaffe before turning north on the A570 and then going back down the same road and over the joining roundabout before turning for home.

Williams recently won the Fibrax Wrexham RC hilly and the second round of the Sigma Sports Classic Series in April.

On the flatter local roads Williams was in emphatic form despite the conditions making times slower than expected.

Behind him, veteran Graham Kemp (Team Bottrill) led the rest of the field home in a time of 20.17.

Meanwhile Darren Maironis (Transition Racing Team) took third finishing in 20.26, a slender margin of two seconds ahead of Steven Burke (Team Wallis Race Team).

Great Britain track squad member Rhona Callander (Team Breeze) was in equally impressive form winning the women’s event by 34 seconds.

The 19-year-old clocked a winning time of 23 and 16 seconds on this occasion.

Early starter Lindsey Styler (Croston Velo) led the rest of the women’s field home in 23.50 while Hannah Fawcett (Liverpool Braveheart BC) took third in 25.34.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

1 Phil Williams (Liverpool Phoenix CC) 19.18
2 Graham Kemp (Team Bottrill) 20.17
3 Darren Maironis (Transition Racing Team) 20.26
4 Steven Burke (Team Wallis Race Team) 20.28
5 Steve Downey (Pirate Juice CC) 21.34
6 Robbie Lawton (Mersey Tri) 21.35
7 Simon Deeley (Team HUUB) 21.38
8 Adrian Hughes (Seamons CC) 21.39
9 Andrew Tibbett (Pirate Juice CC) 21.42
10 Michael Hill (Chester RC) 21.50 

1 Rhona Callander (Team Breeze) 23.16
2 Lindsey Styler (Croston Velo) 23.50
3 Hannah Fawcett (Liverpool Braveheart BC) 25.34