birdwell wheelers

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Apr-17
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 7.5 Miles
  • Course: O10/1
  • Closing Date: 28-Mar-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Barnett and Ledger win at Birdwell Wheelers TT

  • Published: 09 Apr 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Daniel Barnett (Team Bottrill) and Karen Ledger (Rutland CC) were fastest male and female as Birdwell Wheelers staged a time trial on an emergency course in South Yorkshire on Saturday afternoon.

With roadworks on the original O10/1 course which heads from Hatfield Woodhouse down to Blaxton and back, organisers had plans to move the event to a different course nearby.

But another set of emergency roadworks appeared on that course too, forcing an eleventh hour change and a shorter 7.5-mile course to the east and north of Hatfield Woodhouse, straddling the M180.

The course instead took riders along minor roads towards Sandtoft, north across the M180 before heading West again and finishing just before re-crossing the motorway.

“It was a bit of a challenge, but at least we managed to get an event on,” said organiser Paul Heggie. “We were told the day before about roadworks on the original course so we planned to use an alternative 10-mile course nearby.

“But on the day itself, someone had put up emergency roadworks, so we had to alter it, turning left before the planned finish point and finishing short.

“Virtually everybody complemented us on getting an event on in the circumstances, and it went well.”

Vet Barnett clocked 15.41 to win by eight seconds from Patrick Gould (Matlock CC), while Anthony Bromley (SSLL Racing Team) completed the men’s podium with third, another three seconds back.

The women’s event saw Karen Ledger (Rutland CC) finish as fastest with 17.14 – and she was awarded the Jim Carr Trophy for her efforts. Jim was the founder of the club in 1949, and his granddaughter Alison Martin was on hand to present the trophy to Ledger.

Her time was 49 seconds quicker than team-mate Alex Deck (Rutland CC).

The event also included a category for road bikes with no aero kit or tri bars, and the win in that category went to Oliver Bridgewood (Spokes BPC Racing). His time of 16.40 gave him the win by 32 seconds from Andy Bishop (Andy Moore Autocentres Racing).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* Karen Ledger is pictured receiving the Jim Carr Trophy from Alison Martin. Photo by Rob Booth Photography.