Addiscombe CC (50% priority to women)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Jul-22
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: G10/42
  • Closing Date: 23-Jul-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

McNamara and Carpenter claim wins at Addiscombe 10

  • Published: 01 Aug 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Angela Carpenter

Simon McNamara ( was the fastest man in the Addiscombe CC 10-mile time trial near Dorking, while Angela Carpenter (a3crg) was the quickest rider in the women’s event.

McNamara went off as the scratch man and justified that position as he flew in as the only rider to go under the 20 minute mark. His final time was 19:59, six seconds quicker than predicted by national ranking provider Spindata.

Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) was the second placed rider, coming in at 20:34. While just four seconds off the pace in third was Richard Pywell (Team Bottrill) at 20:38.

McNamara was coming off the back of a podium finish in the Sussex CA 13.5 last weekend where he was third. His last solo victory came in the Sussex CA 10 earlier in the season so he will be happy to add to his tally today heading into the back end of the season.

In the women’s event it was Angela Carpenter who finished quickest, the veteran clocked in at 22:02.

Second spot went to Grace Reynolds (Southampton University RC), the espoir rider completed the course in 23:41 - a new personal best. Taking the final podium spot was Sarah Matthews (a3crg) her final time was 24:34.

The last victory for prolific winner Carpenter came at the VTTA 10-mile Championship at the start of the month, between then and now she had two podium finishes both of which were second places, the latter of which coming three days prior to this event in which she rode an almost identical time at the a3crg 10.

In regards to category winners there were also prizes for veteran category winners. The veteran winners were David Clark (Eastbourne Rovers CC), Richard Llewellyn (Imperial RT) and Graham Lane (South London Harriers). Their times were 21:20, 21:48 and 21:58 respectively.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Neral Buckley.