Hounslow & District Whs (incorporates VTTA National 100 championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-May-22
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 100 Miles
  • Course: H100/88
  • Closing Date: 17-May-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Shepherd and Carpenter clinch VTTA National 100 titles

  • Published: 29 May 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Angela Carpenter

Team-mates at a3crg David Shepherd and Angela Carpenter took the VTTA National 100 Championship titles after impressive rides in the Hounslow & District Wheelers 100 on Sunday.

Shepherd, aged 61, finished seventh on scratch covering the course in three hours, 45 minutes and eight seconds over the 100 miles which was good enough for victory on standard with +1.18.

Meanwhile 53-year-old Carpenter recorded the fastest women’s time of scratch with 3-53-00 which was also the best veteran standard overall with +1.27.

It was the third VTTA national honour for Carpenter this season after successes in the 50 and 10-mile championship events.

The event was also the 53rd Ron Brown Memorial hosted by Hounslow & District Wheelers.

The route, course H100/88, starts just east of the Hen and Chickens Inn, then proceeds eastwards to the junction with the A31 which it joins to head via the Bentley by-pass, then circles the roundabout to rejoin the A31 south westwards and again via the Bentley by-pass.

Riders pass the start point on the north side to the Holybourne roundabout, continuing on the A31 to the Chawton roundabout then rejoining the A31 north eastwards to the Holybourne roundabout and still on the A31 to go past the ‘Hen and Chickens Inn' to complete the first circuit, then repeat for a total of five circuits before finishing on the A31.

The event also included the Hounslow & District Wheelers 100 competed on scratch times.

Paceline RT rider Paul Burton completed the course in 03-33-44, to finished one minute and one second ahead of FTP’s Tim McEvoy with Mark Smith, from Crawley Wheelers, taking third place in 03-40-15.

On standard Shepherd added the 100 VTTA title to his third place in the VTTA National 50 held two weeks earlier.

McEvoy finished second on standard with the 43-year-old’s time making a standard of +1.07 while Mark Smith (Crawley Wheelers) finished third (+1.06).

In the women’s event, Carpenter took victory (3-53-00) with runner-up Liz Brooke, from Wahoo Endurance Zone, clocking 03-54-54, to comfortably beat Nopinz Motip Racing Team’s Emma O’Toole, who finished in 04-11-17.

Carpenter was a clear winner on standard while behind a close battle for the remaining medals saw 47-year-old Lisa Davis (Drag2Zero) finishing second with her time of 4-27-14 equating to a standard of +0.45.

Narrowly beaten into third was 43-year-old Joanna Cebrat Bury Clarion CC whose time of 4-24-49 was equated to +0.44

In the tandem category the Newbury Velo duo of Ian Greenstreet and Rachael Elliott recorded a time of 3-40-26 which also gave them another VTTA title on standard.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Veterans on standard:

1 David Shepherd (…a3crg) +1.18
2 Tim McEvoy (FTP Racing) +1.07
3 Mark Smith (Crawley Wheelers) +1.06

1 Angela Carpenter (…a3crg) +1.27
2 Lisa Davies (Drag2Zero) +0.45
3 Joanna Cebrat (Bury Clarion CC) +0.44

Scratch times:

1 Paul Burton Paceline RT            3-33-44
2 Tim McEvoy FTP Racing             3-34-45
3 Mark Smith Crawley Wheelers 3-40-15
4 Henrik Persson FTP Racing        3-41-26
5 Andy Critchlow Norwood Paragon CC  3-43-27
6 Kevin Baker Velo Club St Raphael           3-43-35

1 Angela Carpenter a3crg             3-53-00
2 Lizi Brooke Wahoo Endurance Zone                     3-54-54
3 Emma O’Toole Nopinz Motip Racing Team        4-11-17
4 Joanna Cebrat Bury Clarion CC 4-24-49
5 Naomi Shinks Bournemouth Jubilee Wh             4-25-30
6 Lisa Davis DRAG2ZERO               4-27-14