RTTC National Hill Climb Championship sponsored by Irwin Mitchell Solicitors (Junior women)(Reading CC)(Entries close 06/10/20)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Oct-20
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 0.5 Miles
  • Course: HHC005
  • Closing Date: 10-Jan-20 00:00
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior

Smith charges to clear victory in junior women’s National Hill Climb Championship

  • Published: 25 Oct 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Abi Smith

Abi Smith (Moonglu CC) took an emphatic victory by 15 seconds to take her second national title of the season in the National Hill-Climb Championships sponsored by Irwin Mitchell Solicitors.

Smith, aged 18, from Oswaldkirk in North Yorkshire, clocked a winning time of three minutes and 2.46 seconds on the Streatley climb of 0.8 kilometres in length in Berkshire.

The hill, with an average gradient of 13% and a maximum of 25.9%, runs from near Streatley School and heading towards Goring & Streatley Golf Club with the steepest section after the half-way point.

Smith took her maiden national crown in the 10-mile championships back in August clocking a winning time of 22-11 on that occasion.

After having to settle for silver in the National 25 Championships last month Smith was again top of the podium positions recording an average speed of 9.80 miles per hour on the Streatley climb.

Leading the fight for the remaining podium positions was Ellen Bennett (Flamme Rouge CT) in her second open event and maiden hill climb taking an impressive second position in 3-17.46.

Also taking part in her first open hill climb was Kate Richardson (Glasgow Triathlon Club) who made the long trip from Scotland worthwhile by taking bronze in 3-21.47.

Pre-race medal favourites Eluned King (Liv CC Halo Cycles) and Isabella Johnson (Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling) were both non-starters on a day when many were prevented from riding due to Covid-19 restrictions.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 Abi Smith (Moonglu CC) 3.02.46
2 Ellen Bennett (Flamme Rouge CT) 3.17.46
3 Kate Richardson (Glasgow Triathlon Club) 3.21.47
4 Ellie Wallbaum (Avid Sport) 3.29.82
5 Lucy Benezet Minns (Penge Cycle Club) 3.32.28
6 Libby Smithson (Liv AWOL) 3.43.16