Essex Roads CC (SPOCO SE)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 31-Aug-20
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: E11/25a
  • Closing Date: 18-Aug-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Smith and George charge to victories in Essex Roads 25

  • Published: 03 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Veteran rider Matthew Smith (Drag2Zero) took his second win of the season in the Essex Roads 25, while Jennifer George (Memorial- Santos) won the women’s event.

Smith, who also won the Orwell Velo 20 earlier this month, once again tasted victory clocking a winning time of 52 minutes and 46 seconds.

It was the first time the event used the E11/25A course after the introduction of traffic calming measures made their previous course unusable.

Smith and George’s winning times were therefore new course records.

The new course sees riders start near Norton Heath before heading west down the undulating A414 to Chipping Ongar.

Riders headed back west past the start and finish going over two roundabouts before turning at Chelmsford.

After completing the second out and back leg riders went through the start and completed the first section again for the 25-mile distance.

Despite a low temperate of between eight and nine degrees celsius riders were treated to very little wind for the event.

In a close competition for the remaining podium places improving under-23 rider Timothy Torrie (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling Gett Taxi) finished second in 54-19 which was just a second faster than Timothy Chilvers (Maldon & District CC).

Quickest junior was Matthew Lord (Lee Valley Youth CC) in 56-52 while Chelmer CC were the quickest team consisting of David and Peter Harding along with Nick Boyle.

The fastest tandem was David Shannon and Richard May (Islington CC).

After finishing seventh in the National 10 Mile Championship the previous day George took the women’s victory in 58-56.

She beat veteran rider Louise Robinson (Essex Roads CC) into second finishing in 1-02-10.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.