Pendle Forest CC (MM slower than 21:30 LTS)(Preference North DC Clubs)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Aug-20
  • Time: 18:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: L1015
  • Closing Date: 21-Jul-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Veterans Knupfer and Booth snatch victories in Pendle Forest CC 10

  • Published: 02 Aug 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Erica Booth

Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) took the slimmest of victories in extraordinary circumstances to clinch the women’s win at the Harry Clarkson Memorial 10 organised by Pendle Forest CC, while Philip Knupfer (Manchester BC) took the men’s honours.

Junior rider Abi Smith (Moonglu CC) looked on her way to take the victory but freewheeled for the last 150 metres after thinking she had crossed the line on her first outing on the course.

That allowed experienced rider Booth, aged 41, to pip her junior rival to victory by a single second clocking a time of 21-40.

It was Booth’s first victory of the season as she prepares for attempts at the National 25 and 50 Championships later this season.

On the same course last season Booth clocked 21-56 to take third in the West Pennine RC 10, so showed considerable improvement despite a long gap in racing.

Meanwhile the rapidly improving Smith smashed her open personal best by over a minute in second place and fifth overall.

Four women placed in the top 10 overall with Miriam Jessett (Team Kirkley Cycles) coming home third female in 21-50 and Christina Wiejak Jadan (CycleSpace- Vive Le Velo) a further two seconds back.

The Pendle Forest CC 10 gave preference to riders with slower times than 21.30 and 20 entries were sent back to riders who were considered too fast for the field, which was full at 100 riders.

The super-fast L1015 course saw riders compete an out and back course on the A590 battling a decreasing headwind towards Lindale before turning for home.

Knupfer took a more convincing win in the men’s event with his time of 21-08 six seconds faster than his rivals.

The 42-year-old started mid-field and despite the wind smashed his open personal best by 47 seconds to clinch his first ever open victory.

Fellow veteran Adam Baines (Transition RT) equalled his personal best to take second in 21-14 while Paul Taylor (North Lancashire RC) completed the podium positions a further seven seconds back.

The event was named the Harry Clarkson Memorial who was a member of the Pendle Forest Cycling Club joining in 1939.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1.Philip Knupfer (Manchester BC) 21.08
2. Adam Baines (Transition RT) 21.14
3. Paul Taylor (North Lancashire RC) 21.21
4. Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) 21.40
5. Abi Smith (Moonglu CC) 21.41
6. Stephen Makin (Falkirk BC) 21.43
7. Michael Greaney (Stockport Clarion) CC 21.45
8. Stuart Garnett (Barrow Central Wheelers) 21.48
9. Miriam Jessett (Team Kirkley Cycles) 21.50
10. Christina Wiejak (Jadan CycleSpace) 21.52

1 Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) 21.40
2 Abi Smith (Moonglu CC) 21.41
3 Miriam Jessett (Team Kirkley Cycles) 21.50