Cycle Club Basingstoke

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Sep-19
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 1.5 Km
  • Course: HHC018
  • Closing Date: 03-Sep-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Hills sets new course record in Hampshire

  • Published: 15 Sep 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Rosamund Bradbury and Daniel Hills topped the women and men’s categories respectively in Sunday morning’s hill-climb hosted by CC Basingstoke on Brockham Hill Lane in Hampshire.

Daniel Hills (Brixton CC) claimed his first open event win on record with a three-second victory, setting a new course record along the way.

With no recorded events in 2019, Hills’ form coming into the events was a mystery. But the 26-year-old quickly made it clear he had improved from his 2018 form which saw a highest recorded placing of seventh.

Hills clocked a record time of 4-05.17 ahead of Ian Middleton (Foran CCC) who finished second around three seconds adrift in 4-08.22.

David Ross (LFGSS CC) may have had a better 2018 palmares than the aforementioned duo but Ross could only muster up a third-place finish after crossing the line in 4-09.30.

Rosumund Bradbury (Sigma Sports) finished a respectable 17th out of 35 riders overall as she was fastest woman on the day.

Bradbury finished with a time of 4-56.96, equal to fastest V50 rider Stewart House (Arctic Aircon RT).

Fastest veteran overall went to Richard Cartland (South Downs Bikes/Casco Pet) who finished fourth in the overall standings with a time of 4-12.01 while Jack Hartrey (Kingston Wheelers CC) took the fastest junior/juvenile prize clocking 5-00.86.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.



1. Daniel Hills (Brixton Cycles Club)            4-05.17

2. Ian Middleton (Foran CCC)           4-08.22

3. David Ross (LFGSS CC)   4-09.30

4. Richard Cartland (South Downs Bikes/Casco Pet) 4-12.01

5. Calvin Cheung (Hub Velo) 4-14.77

6. Jon Hughes (Velo Club Godalming & Haselmere)            4-18.64

7. Peter Tadros (trainSharp)    4-23.64

8. Guy Bridgewood (Rapha Cycling Club)    4-23.76

9. Matt Phipps-Taylor (Velosport CC)           4-27.84

10. Oliver Bridgewood (JAM Cycle Race Team)      4-28.36

Women: Rosamund Bradbury (Sigma Sports)           4-56.96

Junior/Juvenile: Jack Hartrey (Kingston Wheelers CC)        5-00.86

Veteran: Richard Cartland