VTTA (Surrey/Sussex)(pref to VTTA Members)(VTTA National Championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 28-Apr-19
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: G10/41
  • Closing Date: 16-Apr-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Ainsworth and Carpenter crowned champions at VTTA National 10 Championships

  • Published: 29 Apr 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Keith Ainswoth and Angela Carpenter

Keith Ainsworth (Sheffrec CC) and Angela Carpenter (a3crg) were crowned VTTA National 10 Champions after a hard fought competition on the Sussex border.

The G10/41 loop on the county border was the scene of this year’s VTTA National 10 with riders traveling north on the A29 away from Horsham before making the return journey on the A24.

Ainsworth, aged 60, was crowned the men’s champion clocking a time of 21 minutes and seven seconds around the loop accumulating a standard result of +6.32.

He was chased home by younger rival Neil Mackley (...a3crg) whose slightly slower scratch time of 21.16 gave him a +5.56.

Ian Greenstreet and Rachael Elliott

Rounding off the men’s podium was 65-year-old Andrew Grant (Cambridge CC) clocking 22.29 for a +5.44.

The women’s event saw a3crg team-mates Angela Carpenter and Sarah Matthews battle it out for the victory.

Carpenter’s time of 23.02 was enough for the win with a standard result of +6.04 ahead of Matthew (+5.28) with Helen Roby (Spirit Bikes CC) rounding off the podium with +4.22.

Fastest tandem was Ian Greenstreet (AeroCoach) and Rachael Elliot (Newbury RC) who finished in 20.56 giving them a standard of +5.43.

Fastest rider on scratch went Christopher McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) who clocked a winning time of 20.10.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A full gallery of images from this event by Kimroy Photography is available here


Veteran men on std:

1 Keith Ainsworth (Sheffrec CC)      +6:32              

2 Neil Mackley (...a3crg)        +5:56  

3 Andrew Grant (Cambridge CC)      +5:44              

4 Darren Maironis (Transition RT)      +5:20              

5 Steve Dennis (East Grinstead CC)  +4:53  

6 Nik Allen (Worthing Excelsior CC)            +4:51

7 Martin Jones Colour Tech    +4.48

8 James Fawcett Hampshire RC         +4.48  


Veteran women on std:

1 Angela Carpenter (a3crg)     +6:40

2 Sarah Matthews (a3crg)       +5:28

3 Helen Roby (Spirit Bikes CC)         +4.22

Tandem: Ian Greenstreet (AeroCoach) & Rachael Elliot (Newbury RC) +5.43



1 Christopher McNamara        Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT          20:10  

2 Keith Ainsworth      Sheffrec CC    21:07  

3 Darren Maironis       Transition Race Team 21:11  

4 Neil Mackley            a3crg   21:16  

=5 Nik Allen   Worthing Excelsior CC           21:45  

=5 Howard Bayley     Blazing Saddles          21:45  

6 Martin Jones Colour Tech RT          21:52  

7 James Fawcett          Hampshire Road Club            22:15  

8 Steve Dennis            East Grinstead CC (Merlin Coaching)            22:19