Wolsey RC (women & juniors free)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Apr-18
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: B25/50
  • Closing Date: 03-Apr-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fairweather and Pritchard charge to victories in Wolsey RC 25

  • Published: 16 Apr 18
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Stuart Fairweather.

Despite cold and damp conditions hindering times, Stuart Fairweather (Team Velovelocity) and Amy Pritchard (Giant Camden Team Liv) rode to clear victories at the Wolsey RC 25.

Known as a fast and rolling course the B25/50 starts from outside Harleston before heading down the A143 to Bungay before travelling back and repeating the course for a second lap.

Fairweather, 41 and from Woodbridge in Suffolk, also won the Plomesgate 10 last month and rode a winning time of 53 minutes and 12 seconds on this occasion.

“It was cold and misty, so I don’t think many people went well,” said Fairweather.

“I think it was a slow day and I couldn’t get my heart rate up but I did okay and ended up winning. It’s generally a rolling course on a smooth piece of wide road.

Amy Pritchard receives the Pat Pepper
Trophy from Mick Pepper.

“I won the Plomesgate 10 which is my local course and so I was quite pleased to also win today and the form is quite good at the moment.”

Fairweather beat team-mate Ben Stancombe into seconds finishing 49 seconds slower in a time of 54.03.

Receiving the Pat Pepper Trophy as fastest female, Pritchard retained the title she won last year but went two and a half minutes faster on this occasion, finishing in one hour and 33 seconds to set a new course record.

She was chased all the way home by Becky Murley (Wisbech Whls) who finished in 1:01.03 while 2017 winner and old course record holder Verity Smith (Stowmarket & District CC) rounded off the podium in 1:03.29.

There was a big improvement from Great Yarmouth CC rider Jan Smith (1:07.14) while Sleaford Wheelers’ Kathryn Smith made a welcome return to racing after a period of ill health.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

Amy Pritchard.



1 Stuart Fairweather (Team Velovelocity) 53.12

2 Ben Stancombe (Team Velovelocity) 54.03

3 Matt O’Brien (Plomesgate CC) 55.18

4 Sam Proctor (Ride Harder) 56.03

5 Lucas He (VC Baracchi) 56.04

6 Chris Tye (Plomesgate CC) 56.47

7 Simon Daw (Velo Schils Interbike RT) 57.09

8 Steve Cave (Plomesgate CC) 57.10

9 Adrian Pettitt (Stowmarket & District CC) 58.23

10 Andrew Leggett (Team Velovelocity) 58.30



1 Stuart Fairweather (Team Velovelocity) 53.12

2 Matt O’Brien (Plomesgate CC) 55.18

3 Chris Tye (Plomesgate CC) 56.47



1 Amy Pritchard (Giant Camden Team Liv) 1:00.33

2 Becky Murley (Wisbech Whls) 1:01.03

3 Verity Smith (Stowmarket & District CC) 1:03.29