yorkshire rc (cheques to p hurt)(enteries close 14/10/17)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 22-Oct-17
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: V9916
  • Closing Date: 14-Oct-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Savage wins again, while Gorman is fastest female on Cragg Vale

  • Published: 23 Oct 17
F | T | G+

Kieran Savage (B38-Underpin Racing) took his second win in two days as he powered to victory in the Yorkshire Road Club hill-climb on Cragg Vale near Mytholmroyd, West Yorkshire, on Sunday.

The 20-year-old from Leeds followed up his win in the previous afternoon’s Drighlington BC climb with a near 20-second victory in this event, clocking 16:09.9 to win by 19.1 seconds from Louis Szymanski (ABC Centreville).

Strong winds blowing across the valley meant the course record was not in danger, with current record holder and 2016 winner Andy Cunningham (All Terrain Cycles) settling for third, 23 seconds behind Savage.

Savage’s win meant that he retained the Yorkshire Hill-Climb Points Series title by just one point from Cunningham – who had won the morning’s Huddersfield RC climb on Ripponden Bank.

Charlotte Gorman (Team Lusso) was fastest female clocking 22:38.4 to win by 2-12 from Claire Jessop (Otley CC).

It was the latest win for in-form Savage, who will go into next weekend’s National Championships full of confidence. As well as winning the Yorkshire RC and Drighlington BC events this weekend, he also won the Blaydon CC two-stage earlier this month and was second in competitive fields at the Huddersfield Star Wheelers and Chesterfield Coureurs events.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Rider Club  Cat   Actual

1     Kieran Savage     Team B38/Underpin S     16:09.9

2     Louis Szymanski   ABC Centreville   S     16:29.0

3     Andy Cunningham   All Terrain Cycles      S     16:33.5

4     Matthew Hallam    Valley Striders   S     17:03.1

5     Eugene Cross      Team KTM    S     17:20.3

6     Philip Jones      Bella in Sella    S     17:28.4

7     Jacob Vezey Harrogate Nova    S     17:28.5

8     Mark Jagger Harrogate Nova    S     17:56.5

9     David Stammers    Team ASL-Bolton   S     18:26.6

10    Luke Buswell      Manchester BC     S     19:21.9

11    Tommy Dawson      Yorkshire RC      Jv    19:22.2

12    Clive Upton Hambleton RC      S     19:23.1

13    Andrew Mclaughlan ABC Centreville   S     19:30.5

14    Anthony Ashworth  Wetherby Whs      A     19:48.2

15    James Marsden     Cyclesense CC     S     20:06.5

16    Martin Portman    Yorkshire RC      B     20:39.2

17    Adrian Stott      Jackpot Racing    A     20:58.7

18    Paul Targett      Pendle Forest CC  B     21:21.1

19    Thomas Brabbin    Halifax Imperial  S     22:07.3

20    Charlotte Gorman  Team Lusso  W     22:38.4

21    Jon Taylor  ABC Centreville   A     22:38.7

22    David Grogan      ABC Centreville   C     22:44.0

23    Ken Woodward      Bury Clarion      B     23:56.9

24    Andrew Bolton     Otley CC    A     24:03.2

25    Paul Brierley     Huddersfield RC   B     24:21.0

26    Dominic Garnham   Leeds & Bradford TC     S     24:36.5

27    Mark Lansdown     Albarosa CC C     24:47.3

28    Claire Jessop     Otley CC    W     24:50.2

29    Nicholas Holmes   ABC Centreville   B     26:23.4

30    John Barnett      Otley CC    C     26:44.3

31    David Golden      West Pennine RC   B     29:17.8

32    Dylan Pryor Bolton Tri Club   Jv    31:15.8

33    David Tinker      Clayton Velo      B     33:44.8

      Philip Wilson     Wakefield Tri Club      S     Apol

      Liz Hills   Otley CC    W     Apol

      Gill Arnett Otley CC    W     Apol

      Daniel Shaw Halifax Imperial  A     Apol

      Gilly Dukes Huddersfield Star W     Apol

      Richard Knell-Moore     Jackpot Racing    A     Apol

      Greg Jessop Otley CC    B     Apol

      Francis Woodcock  Bury Clarion      Jv    Apol

      Declan Brady      Bury Clarion      S     DNS

      Danny Walmsley    Lancashire RC     S     DNS

      Lee Bowell  Huddersfield Star S     DNS

      Gary Fleet  ABC Centreville   B     DNS

      Liam Golton Selby CC    S     DNS

      Mark Jones  Bury Clarion      A     DNS

      Joanna Cebrat     Bury Clarion      W     DNS

      Joseph Cadwallader      Bury Clarion      S     DNS

      Julie Holden      Salford Cycling Club    W     DNS

      John Stirzaker    Bury Clarion      A     DNS

      Peter Greenwood   Team Swift  C     DNS

      Sean Newbould     Featherstone RC   S     DNS



1     Mike Furby  Valley Striders   V     29:43.0

      Elisabetta Furby        W