minehead cycling club (preference to women)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Sep-16
  • Time: 09:30
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: UH10
  • Closing Date: 13-Sep-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Laverack takes win in Minehead CC Hill Climb

  • Published: 25 Sep 16
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+

Ed Laverack claimed victory in the Minehead CC Hill Climb on Sunday.

The pro rider for JLT Condor clocked a time of 15.01.7 to claim victory in a strong field of 120 riders that included present and former national champions.

Laverack added the victory to the win he claimed last weekend at the Welsh CA championship.

Second behind Laverack last weekend was 2014 National Hill Climb champion Dan Evans, and he had to settle for second place again on the Porlock Road course.

Evans (Team Elite/Paul Bethell Electric) was exactly ten seconds behind the winner, stopping the clock at 15.11.7.

Junior rider Charlie Meredith (Giant CC Halo Films) set a time of 15.41.3 to not only win the junior category, but to pick up an excellent third place overall.

2015 National Hill Climb and 10-mile champion Richard Bussell finished fourth, despite suffering a puncture.

Bussell said that outside of national championships he had not seen a more competitive field of riders, who were competing for a share of the £3,000 prize pot.

Gordon Markus was the first veteran, the Severn RT rider setting a time of 17.29.5.

It was another strong weekend for three-time women’s national hill climb champion Maryka Sennema (Paceline RT).

Sennema’s time of 17.43.9 was not only two minutes clear of second place woman Sophie Slaney (Twickenham CC), but it was also good enough for second veteran overall.

This result came on the back of victory in the women’s category on Saturday in the Exeter Wheelers Hill Climb.

Tristan Davies had a race to remember, the 12-year old of One and All Cycling clocked a time of 18.53.2, to win the prize for leading juvenile.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Ed Laverack (JLT Condor) 15.01.7

2. Dan Evans (Team Elite/Paul Bethell Electric)        15.11.7

3. Charlie Meredith (Giant CC Halo Films)   15.41.3

4. Richard Bussell (AeroCoach)         15.48.2

5. Max Steadman (Pedalheaven)        16.05.5

6. Oscar Hutchings (Primera Team Jobs)        16.07.4

7. George Flower (NFTO Pro Cycling)          16.25.8

8. Charlie McFadzean (CS Dynamo)  16.40.2

9. William Evans (Wellington Whs)   17.03.8

10. Joe Norledge (Bristol South CC)  17.06.4


1. Maryka Sennema (Paceline RT)      17.43.9

2. Sophie Slaney (Twickenham CC)   19.48.7

3. Natalie Grinczer (Team WNT)        19.49.9

Veteran: Gordon Markus (Severn RC)           17.29.5

Junior: Charlie Meredith (Giant CC Halo Films)        15.41.3

Juvenile: Tristan Davies (One and All Cycling)         18.53.2