Barnesbury CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 24-Jul-22
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: M2510
  • Closing Date: 16-Jul-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Rankin Trophy wins for Gibbs and Razouk

  • Published: 25 Jul 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Basel Razouk. Photos by Ali McLean.

Overall victory at the Barnesbury CC 25-mile Johnny Rankin Trophy event in Northumberland went to Basel Razouk of Torvelo Racing, while quickest female rider was Vicky Gibbs (Reifen Racing).

Glasgow-based Razouk clocked 51-06 for the course near Bedlington, fast enough for the win by 1-37 from talented juvenile Harris Hall (Velo Culture), while Adam Smith of Team Kirkley Cycles completed the male podium with a time of 53-25.

Gibbs clocked 1-06-17 to take the win by almost two minutes from Adele McAleer (Velo Culture) who was on a road bike, while third (and also second fastest on a road bike) was Lois Jarvis (NTR) in 1-08-22.

Quickest male rider on a road bike was Noel Stoddart (Blaydon CC) in 59-34.

The morning had started out really calm early on, but by the time of the event the squally winds returned and made conditions quite challenging.

Vicky Gibbs

“This was a tricky day in blustery conditions typical of this season, where it feels like you're struggling but have to press on hoping it's not just you,” said Razouk.

“I tried to pace each leg North conservatively, leaving some in the tank to push on the way back. I think that paid off, if anything too well, with the last 20 minutes as good as I felt in the rhythm.

“It's been a bit of a stop-start season so far for me, so I’m pleased to get a win and a solid time with plenty to work on.”

In other categories fastest veteran was Philip Kennell of GS Metro in 53:38 (+15:29 on standard).

In the Barnesbury CC club riders competition Zach Haigh made it a good day on the bike by winning the Stan Sadler trophy for Fastest Novice and the Jack Burnley Handicap trophy. Zach’s ride time was 58:04 for ninth overall.



Noel Stoddard

Pos      Name   Club    Gender Cat      Time

1          Basel Razouk  Torvelo Racing           Male    Senior  51:06

2          Harris Hall      Velo Culture   Male    Juvenile           52:43

3          Adam Smith    Team Kirkley Cycles  Male    Senior  53:25

4          Philip Kennell GS Metro        Male    Vet      53:38

5          Phil Hall          Velo Culture   Male    Vet      53:44

6          Harry Walker  Revolver Racing         Male    Vet      55:20

7          Peter Stokoe    Reifen Racing Male    Senior  56:07

8          Elliot Sharp     Vector Racing Male    Senior  57:41

9          Zach Haigh     Barnesbury CC           Male    Senior  58:04

10        Nev Martin      Velo Culture   Male    Vet      58:19

11        Chris Mather   Derwentside CC         Male    Vet      58:57

12        Mark Whaley  Blaydon CC    Male    Vet      58:59

13        Christopher Beaty       Allen Valley Velo       Male    Senior  59:05

14        James Meadows          Cleveland Wheelers CC         Male    Senior  59:10

15        Wayne Coates Team Bottrill  Male    Vet      59:17

16        Tim Burdon    Allen Valley Velo       Male    Vet      59:22

17        Noel Stoddart Blaydon CC    Male    Vet      59:34

18        Adam Harrison            Barnesbury CC           Male    Vet      59:36

19        Stephen Makin            Falkirk B C     Male    Vet      59:38

20        Gordon Murdoch        GTR - Return To Life Male    Vet      1:00:23

21        Kris Whitelaw Vector Racing Male    Senior  1:00:39

22        Jonathan Cairns           Nth Tyneside Riders CC        Male    Senior  1:00:54

23        Graham Jones Edinburgh Road Club Male    Vet      1:00:59

24        James Anderson          North Shields Poly      Male    Senior  1:01:01

25        Kevin Hall       Protech Velo   Male    Vet      1:01:20

26        Darren Robson            North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Vet      1:01:38

27        Scott Walton   Tyne Tri          Male    Senior  1:01:44

28        Ian Elliot         Hawick Cycling Club Male    Vet      1:02:13

29        Martin Rasmussen      Tyneside Vagabonds CC        Male    Vet      1:04:00

30        Keith Sibbald  Zeus CRT        Male    Vet      1:04:30

31        Keith Davison Hadrian RT     Male    Vet      1:04:48

32        Alan Turnbull  Hawick Cycling Club Male    Vet      1:05:24

33        Vicky Gibbs    Reifen Racing Female Vet      1:06:17

34        Ian Gallon       North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Vet      1:06:18

35        Paul Barrett     Velo Culture   Male    Senior  1:07:29

36        Adele McAleer            Velo Culture   Female Senior  1:08:03

37        Lois Jarvis       Nth Tyneside Riders CC        Female Senior  1:08:22

38        Peter Darnell   South Shields Velo CC           Male    Senior  1:09:45

39        Angela McGurk          Blaydon CC    Female Vet      1:09:58

40        David Lavery  North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Vet      1:11:17

41        Ray Bell          Derwentside CC         Male    Vet      1:11:49

42        Mick Chappel North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Vet      1:16:31

43        Heather Gould North Shields Poly      Female Vet      1:27:45