Sussex CA (inc. VTTA Surrey/Sussex Championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 24-Jul-22
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 13.5 Miles
  • Course: G30/91
  • Closing Date: 12-Jul-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

McNamara and D’Arcy charge to wins at Sussex CA 13.5

  • Published: 25 Jul 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+

Scratch rider Chris McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sports London RT) took his 12th win of the season in the Sussex CA event which was reduced to 13.5 miles, while Eimear D’Arcy (Woking CC) was fastest of the females in West Sussex.

McNamara, aged 45, recorded a winning time of 26 minutes and 50 seconds which was 53 seconds faster than his nearest rival.

The Sussex Association’s 10th annual 30 miles event was reduced to 13.55 miles because part of the A24 dual carriageway which had one lane coned off early during the week remained in place over the weekend despite the contractors being advised of the event in May.

The only useable portion of the “30” course from Washington to Shoreham-by-sea was used instead on single carriageway A283 and back as far as the original finish just west of the Steyning by-pass.

Riders accepted the shorter challenge and were greeted by reasonable conditions with a temperature between 19 and 24 degrees Celsius and a 13 miles per hour south-west wind.

McNamara also won the …a3crg 50 earlier this month on his last outing and showed his form once again to take a clear win.

A close battle for second saw Cris Coxon (Brighton Mitre CC) complete the course in 27-43 which was just seven seconds ahead of Simon McNamara (

Missing out on the podium positions by 19 seconds was Matt Smith who led Team TMC to the team prize alongside Nik Allen (28-10) and Kevin Plummer (30-43).

Meanwhile, D’Arcy was the only women’s competitor and she completed the course in 35-40.

It was veteran rider D’Arcy’s first open event of the season.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Chris McNamara Nuun-Sigma Sports London RT 26.50

2 Cris Coxon  Brighton Mitre CC     27.43

3 Simon McNamara    27.50

4 Matt Smith  Team TMC       28.09

5 Nik Allen  Team TMC       28.10

6= Mark Smith  Crawley Whls     28.52

6= Conall Yates  Team Solo Vinci   28.52

Team: Team TMC (Matt Smith, Nik Allen, Kevin Plummer  30-43) 1.27.02          

Woman: Eimear D’Arcy        Woking CC    35.40