Vive Le Velo (Yorkshire Spoco Event)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Apr-21
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: V433
  • Closing Date: 13-Apr-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Duggleby and Scupham smash course records on way to victories in Vive Le Velo 25

  • Published: 25 Apr 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Louise Scupham

Adam Duggleby (Chapeau! Vive le Velo) showed his early season form by taking 40 seconds off his own course record on route to winning the Vive Le Velo 25, while Louise Scupham (Liv AWOL) took three minutes off the previous women’s record.

Duggleby, from Leeds, has had a stellar start to his 2020 campaign and took his fourth win on the bounce in Yorkshire.

Despite the lumpy coastal terrain the 36-year-old recorded an average speed of 30.2 miles per hour on his way to recording a winning time of 49-40.

The out and back course saw riders start outside Bridlington before traveling on the A165 to Leven with a headwind return.

Glorious sunshine and a light breeze made a memorable day for the Clive Askwith Trophy events with Duggleby’s time comfortably enough to beat team-mate Richard Sharp (51-26).

Richard Whitfield (Team Bottrill) spoilt the Chapeau Vive Le Velo podium positions sweep with his 53-10 taking third place by a mere five seconds from Darren Yarwood (Chapeau Vive le Velo). 

Yarwood was the quickest veteran on scratch ahead of Mark Wolstenholme (Swift Racing) in second 53-52 while Matthew Asquith (Team Sportslab) finished third in 55-46.

Adam Duggleby

Fastest of the road bikes was time trial newcomer Richard Gibbins (Cliff Pratt Racing) who shot around the coastal course in an impressive time of 58-54. 

Meanwhile, fastest paracyclist was Ben Watson (Para-T) who clocked 58-56.

Blair Buss (Halifax Imperial) took the honours in the medium gear event in 1-02-27 from Jymmy Trevor (Jem Hadar Racing) finished in 1-03-39.

Meanwhile in the women’s event Scupham destroyed the course record by three minutes to take the win.

The 23-year-old went one better than her second place in last week’s VTTA 25 to win in a time of 1-00-37.

Quickest veteran was Sarah Lewthwaite (Sportslab) in 1-01-12 while Hannah Bayes (Liv AWOL) took third (1-02-48).

Second veteran was Natalie Curgenvan (Cliff Pratt Racing) whose time of 1-04-30 was 42 seconds quicker than Helen Goldthorpe (Otley CC).

“It was a good one as I wasn’t sure how my legs were going to feel,” said Scupham.

“I got a personal best for my power over the distance which was really pleasing. I just go into races doing my own thing and focus on my own power.

“There was a really strong headwind on the way back which made it really tough.”

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.