Saint Piran (Mt.Wellington)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 18-Oct-20
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: S/MT. WELLINGTON
  • Closing Date: 10-Oct-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Army Cycling dominate at Mount Wellington

  • Published: 18 Oct 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Army Cycling riders topped both the men’s and women’s podiums at the first of two St Piran hill climbs in the same day with James Bevan and Bexy Dew taking victory.

Bexy Dew

The first of the climbs, the 0.89 mile Mount Wellington climb near the Cornish hamlet of Bissoe saw 19 riders complete.

And it was Bevan, who finished 15th in the University of Bristol CC hill climb last time out, who was quickest in a time of 2:45.

Bevans was a comfortable winner with next quickest home being junior rider Felix Whetter of St Austell Wheelers CC 20 seconds down in 3:05.

Luke Lear of Milford Tritons Cycling Club completed the men’s podium just a second behind Whetter and just three seconds quicker than fourth-placed Bobby Cowsill (Cycle Sport South Hams).

Only two female riders competed in the event but it was yet another win for Army Cycling’s Dew who picked up back-to-back wins after her success in the University of Bristol event.

Here, her time of 3:35 secured her a top 10 finish in eighth. Home club rider Jenny Bolsom was runner-up, finishing in last place overall with a time of 4:31.

James Trubridge, fifth overall, took the veteran prize for Lanhydrock Wheelers in 3:14.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 James Bevan (Army Cycling) 02:45

2 Felix Whetter (St Austell Wheelers) 03:05

3 Luke Lear (Milford Tritons CC) 03:06

4 Bobby Cowsill (CS South Hams) 03:09

5 James Trubridge 03:14

6 Jack Wilson 03:14

7 Harry Preston 03:15

8 Bexy Dew (Army Cycling) 03:15

9 Alexander Boswell 03:18

10 Samuel Medlyn 03:20

11 Craig Morris 03:26

12 Ben Pochee 03:30

13 James Manthorp 03:31

14 Dominic Shipsey 03:35

15 Chris Cumming 03:38

16 Dean Wickett 03:39

17 Ollie Harrison 03:47

18 Zoltan Erdos 03:48

19 Jenny Bolsom  04:31