Southdown Velo (incorporating South DC Champs)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Aug-19
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: p901/25
  • Closing Date: 13-Aug-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Wadsley and Carpenter victorious in West Sussex

  • Published: 25 Aug 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Sam Wadsley

Angela Carpenter and Samuel Wadsley finished as top woman and man, adding to their numerous 2019 victories with comfortable wins in the Southdown Velo 25 on Sunday morning in Sussex.

Samuel Wadsley (Primera-TeamJobs) won for the seventh time this year after clocking a time of 51-48.

The 21-year-old required a time quicker than 52-26 to beat Kevin Nelson (Crawley Wheelers), and took 38 seconds off the time to take top spot as next rider and scratchman Greg Parker couldn’t better Wadsley’s time.

Nelson (Crawley Wheelers) fell short but managed to hold on to second place, equalling his best finish of the season to date in open events.

Nelson’s 52-26 held off Ben Williams (i-Team Cyclists Club) in third who finished in 52-37.

Angela Carpenter (a3crg) was all the more dominant in her victory and led her nearest rival by over three minutes.

Angela Carpenter

Carpenter’s time of 56-02 gave her a decisive and tenth victory of the current season.

Elise Sherwell (Look Mum No Hands!) was her closest competitor finishing with a time of 59-07 and equally as far ahead of third as Carpenter had been in her victory.

Kirsty McSeveney (a3crg) completed the podium in 1-00-30.

The P901/25 circuit starts just outside of Fontwell as riders’ power along the A27 West before coming off and riding a loop through Westhampnett before re-joining the A-road. The time-trial heads back East and past Fontwell until reaching, making a U-turn in Arundel before once again heading West on the A27, finishing on the West side of Fontwell.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.



1. Samuel Wadsley (Primera-Teamjobs)         51.48

2. Kevin Nelson (Crawley Wheelers) 52.26

3. Ben Williams (i-Team Cyclists Club)        52.37

4. Greg Parker (Estrella Bikes)           52.57

5. Neil Mackley (a3crg)          53.17

6. David Triska (Team Bottrill)          53.31

7. James Fawcett (a3crg)        53.46

8. David Walters (Velo Club Godalming & Haselmere)        53.57

9. Peter Younghusband (Petersfield Triathlon Club) 54.07

10. John McGrath (Worthing Excelsior CC)  54.41



1. Angela Carpenter (a3crg)    56.02

2. Elise Sherwell (Look Mum No Hands!)     59.07

3. Kirsty McSeveney (a3crg)    1:00.30