PREVIEWS: May 29-31

Share this post:

A huge field of 150 riders are due to battle it out in the Cambridge CC 15 taking place on Sunday near Cambourne.

Taking place on an out and back loop of the A428 veteran Matthew Smith (Drag2Zero) has the honour of starting last man.

Smith finished second in the Leo 30 on his opening ride of the season but will have to see off tough competition from Paul Burton (Paceline RT) and Lloyd Chapman (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) who both have victories to their names this campaign.

Hayley Simmonds (CAMS Racing) got her season under way with victory in the Aerocoach 10 last weekend.

She will be looking to refine her form ahead of next week’s National Circuit Championships in the women’s event.

Experienced riders Fiona Sharp (Chapeau! Vive Le Velo), Jennifer Clegg (Team Bottrill) and Verity Smith (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) will all be looking to take victory off their younger rivals.

Battle is due to commence in South Wales on Saturday during the Bynea CC 10 and 25 both taking place.

A small but quality field are due to battle out for honours in Saturday’s 10-mile event between Llandovery and Llangadog headed by junior rider Joshua Tarling (
Flanders Color Galloo Team).

Christopher Gibbard (Bynea Cycling Club) already has a win to his name while further challengers could include Gruffudd Lewis (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling).

Chris Gibbard

Bynea Cycling Club team-mates Amanda Lane and Andrea Davies are due to battle out the women’s road bike competition.

Gibbard will also start as scratch man the following day for the 25-mile event which takes place on an out and back course between Llandovery and Llandeilo.

After taking three national crowns last season John Archibald (Eolo Kometa) returns to open time trial action this weekend in the Northampton & District CA 25.

The reigning national closed circuit, circuit and 25 Champion has been riding road races so far this season in Europe for his team Eolo Kometa.

Archibald will start as scratch man in a field which includes Luke Clarke (TMG Horizon Cycling Team) and Jack Patmore (George Fox Cycling Solutions) amongst others.

The women’s event will include Amy Pritchard (Giant Camden Team Liv) and Rebekah Nash (Will Houghton Racing Team) amongst others looking for victory.

The Beacon RCC sees a different type of 10-mile event with riders competing around the outside of the National Exhibition Centre in Birmingham.

Nicholas Trbovic (Cheshire Maverick Cycle Club) finished fourth in the Coventry CC 10 in 19-41 and starts as scratch rider.

Dean Robson (Velo Sport Jersey) will continue his search for victory after two second places this season while B Xavier Disley (AeroCoach) could also challenge.

Debbie Bradley (Team Bottrill) is due to get her season under way in the women’s event with competition coming from Jessica Rhodes-Jones (Aerocoach) and Gabriella Homer (Rupelcleaning Champion-Lubricants) amongst others.

Meanwhile, on the North East coastline riders will be hoping that wind conditions are on their side for the Veloculture 13.

A field of over 100 riders are due to do battle on the Northumberland coastland starting and finishing in Embleton.

Lewis Wake (Team Kirkley Cycles) will start as last man having finished second in both the North Tyneside Riders 10 and Tyne & Wear Fire Service 12.

Meanwhile, Tracey Sample (Alnwick & District Triathlon Club) will be the last woman away, but competition could come from Teri Bayliss (Sub Rosa) amongst others.

Also hoping for good coastal conditions will be the 111 entrants in Saturday’s Southport Cycling Club 10 between Tarleton and Banks on the A565.

Alexander Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) starts as scratch rider looking to improve on his 18-53 season best set in the West Pennine RC 10 earlier this month.

The women’s competition is also a competitive one with Janet Fairclough (Liverpool Phoenix CC), Charlotte Boothman (Team Lusso) and Deborah Moss (Team Merlin) amongst the challengers.

The Bank Holiday weekend allows riders the opportunity to race in keenly fought events on Monday.

The Anfield Bicycle Club 100 sees a strong field of 100 competitors competing on an outward loop and then four circuits near Shrewsbury.

Erica Booth

Veteran rider Tim McEvoy (Fulfil The Potential Racing) starts as last man but will have to see off the competition of Darren Yarwood (Chapeau! Vive Le Velo), local rider Kirk Vickers (Holohan Coaching Race Team) and Richard Bott (Pirate Juice CC).

Experienced rider Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) is amongst the women competing over the 100-mile distance.

Monday also sees the Brighton Mitre CC hold six events for 120 riders.

Christopher McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) starts as last man in the event over 10 miles on the G10/97 course down to Shoreham-by-Sea.

The women’s event will see Sally Turner (TrainSharp) take on a host of challengers.

Meanwhile, the hill 10-mile event will see riders head off the course to finish off the A283 on Steyning Round Hill.

Under-23 rider Theo Tadros (TrainSharp) will start as last man and Anita Turner (Eastbourne Rovers CC) final woman

Also on Monday the Stowmarket & District 10 will see Lloyd Chapman (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) take on Simon Alexander (Richardsons-Trek RT) in an intriguing battle.

Meanwhile, Becky Bridge (TPH Racing) is amongst the women.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.