Roundup 7/8 May

Share this post:


We kick off with the 50-mile events. National 100-mile Champion Charles Taylor (Team Bottrill) scored in the Dukinfield CC promotion his 1-44-51 putting him 1-23 clear of runner-up Simon Wilson (The Nab Racing) while Andy Jackson (SSLL RT) claimed the Norlond TT Combine event with a 1-41-05 ahead of last year's winner Matthew Smith (Team BOttrill), 1-43-49, and Team Bottrill's James Perkins, 1-44-28. Fastest woman was Jessica Rhodes-Jones (Beacon Roads CC) with her 2-03-16. Brett Haywood's hopes of a good performance were brought to a stop when the Terry Wright Cycling rider punctured after 21 miles. Harwood had better luck in Saturday's Lee Valley `10` when he finished second to Rhys Howells (Richardsons-Trek), their respective times 19-04 and 18-52. Peter Harrison (GS Henley) came out on top in the Charlotteville CC `50` a 1-42-59 giving him victory by 2-32 over Kevin Tye (VeloRefined Aerosmiths) with Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy CT) at 3-16. A fine 1-57-54 earned Alice Lethbridge (Starley Racing) the woman's award.


Michael Ellerton (Team Swift) came close to a win double at the weekend. On Saturday he won the Ron Best  `10` by four seconds with a 20-54 from Keith Murray (drag2zero) and followed that up with second place in the Drighlington BC `25`, 23 seconds down on winner Mark Thaxter (HD Revolutions). Tyneside Vagabonds' Anna Turvey continued her run of form with a sparkling 53-40, best woman. 

Ioan Smallwood (Cardiff Ajax) was another close to a double success. Saturday saw him take the Port Talbot Wheelers `10` with a 21-12 ahead of Chris Gibbard (Bynes CC), 21-56. The event also included the South Wales GHS event where Joshua Tarling (West Wales CRT) was fastest with his 25-05. Smallwood followed up with second spot in the CC Blaenou Gwent `25`. a 51-47 49 seconds behind winner Jon Wynn (T1 Mid Devon CC's Conrad Moss filled third with a 51-59. Michelle Robertson (Abercynon RC) clocked 1-04-16 as fastest woman.


The Bournemouth & District Woman's CA `25` saw the return of multi-champion Julia Shaw (drag2zero) who returned a 55-57 to finish in ninth out of 48 riders, Greg Parker (Velo Club St Raphael) winning with a 52-26 on a day of  sunshine and showers.

Kris Whitelaw (Muckle CC) showed the way home in the North Tyneside Riders `12` his 27-58 1-14 too good for runner-up Andrew Hall (GS Metro). Russell Richardson (Teeside CRC) rode to third with a 29-27 after having finished sixth in Saturday's Cleveleys RC `10`
, 59 seconds down on winner Derek Parkinson (Springfield Financial). The Orwell Velo 20-mile time trial was taken by Stuart Fairweather (Plomesgate CC) from Antony Birt (Ipswich BC), 45-50, where Becky Schofield (Tri-Anglia Tri Club) was best of the women with her 51-15.


As usual there were plenty of 10-mile events at the weekend. Rachael Elliott (Newbury RC) set a woman's course record for the H10-17R at Abingdon with her 21-17, good enough for a seventh place in the overall listing. Winner was Daniel Alamine (Oxford University CC) with a 1958. James Rix (Crawley Wheelers) won the Old Portlians CC `10` by 10 seconds from Peter Tadros (In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp) with his 20-06: Robby Krygsman (Team Swift), 21-16, was fastest by three seconds in the Barton Wheelers event; Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) repeated his 2015 success in the Melton Olympic CC time trial this time with a 20-13;