Weekend Preview, Feb 8-9 2020

Share this post:

Well over 100 riders are preparing to star their time trial seasons at the Kingston Wheelers 13.6-mile event in Surrey on Sunday morning, while the Ely and District Hardriders’ in Cambridgeshire also has a good field.

Liam Maybank

More than 70 people are down to ride the increasingly popular road bike event in the Kingston Wheelers event, while another 45 riders are tackling the event on a time trial machine on the GS/292a course near Ripley.

Former Olympic rower and two-time World Championship bronze medallist Mark Aldred (Kingston Wheelers) – who switched to cycling after the 2016 Rio games – is down to ride again and is favourite to win the road bike event for a third consecutive year.

But also in the running is Paul Burton (Paceline RT) as well as Shaun King (Kingston Wheelers) and Neil Harrigan (Gravesend CC).

There is also a strong field of 11 females in the road bike event, with multiple winner Alice Lethbridge (Drag2zero) down to ride once again

Last man off in the time trial event is Liam Maybank, the Twickenham CC rider who has been second for the last two years.

The course is a 13.58-mile circuit, covering two laps from Hungry Hill Lane to East Clandon, West Horsley and Ripley Lane. Headquarters for the event is Ripley Scout Hut on Rose Lane.

Rebecca Johnson

Gil Jessop was an original member of the club who was instrumental in reforming it after World War Two in 1953. He later became club President, a post he held until his death in the early 1990s.

The Ely and District CC 25 uses the BS19 course near Little Downham in Cambridgeshire.

Jack Brown (ActiveEdge RT) is the last man off, the Espoir having placed ninth in last year’s National 25-Mile Championship with a personal best time of 48-09.

Lloyd Chapman (Loose Cannon’s Conditioning) will also be going for glory, and with a PB of 48-24 set only last year he too will be one to watch.

And 2018 winner John Mulvey (ActiveEdge RT) returns, as does last year’s third-placed rider Rob Walker (Cambridge Univ CC).

The women’s field includes Cindy Beynon (DAP CC) who has won the event twice in the last three years. But also down to ride is former Brother UK-Fusion road rider Rebecca Johnson who now rides for Stowmarket & Dist CC, as well as Helen Gravatt (CC Ashwell).

Full startsheets from these and other events are available on the CTT website. Remember to keep checking back to the CTT website over the weekend for reports and results.

All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.