Knight Composites Classic Series Round 5 / weekend preview

Share this post:

Attention switches to Greystoke near Penrith on Sunday when the Border City Wheelers’s Circuit of Greystoke Forest hosts the fifth round of the Knight Composites Classic TT Series.


Currently in second place overall, Dean Robson (Northover RT-Rudy Project) heads the men’s entry where George Evans (Team Bottrill-Vanguard), Danny Grieves (GS Metro), Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers) and Leon Wright (Race Hub) provide some of the opposition. The men face two laps of the circuit for a total of 28 miles with the current course of 1-04-44  set by Philip Graves in 2016.  

Victoria Smith


Victoria Smith (AeroCoach), Jessica Rhodes-Jones (Beacon Roads CC), second overall with 225 points to current leader Kelly Murphy’s 234 points, Anna Weaver (NJC-Biemme-Echelon) and Jackie Field (CC Ashwell), who leads the Women Veterans table, are among the leading women.

Peter Nicholls (Race Hub) defends his number one spot in the Veteran’s Series with second placed Simon Dighton (Beacon Roads CC), Lee Morgan (Team Bottrill-Vanguard), Ben Lane (GS Metro), Peter Greenwood (Team Swift) and Daryl May (Sheffrec CC) all ready to challenge.  

Simon Dighton


Adam Jarps (Team Bottrill-Vanguard) heads the Juniors listings by 60 points from Daniels Kucerjavijs (Mossley CRT) and both are present this time as is CTT Scholarship rider Thomas Prentice (GS Metro). Only one point separates Paracyclists David Murphy (Liverpool Mercury Dolan CC) and Nicholas Fairfield (City RC Hull) in the overall standings so expect a tight finish here.

The Women, Vets, Juniors and Paracyclist race over one lap, 14 miles. Peter Nicholls set the course record of 32-57 last year.

Event headquarters are at Greystoke Village Hall, Greystoke, five miles west of Penrith. First rider is off at 9.01, the last 10.20.

Other Weekend Events

The Classic Anfield BC `100` is Monday’s big attraction with 2017 runner-up Richard Bideau (Peak Forest CC) looking to go one better. Mark Turnbull (TORQ Performance), Andy Jackson (AeroCoach), Keith Murray (Drag2Zero), Victor Chetta (Arctic Tacx RT) and Lynne Biddulph (Born to Bike) are also listed.

Twenty-five mile record holder Marcin Bialoblocki (NOPINZ) goes for the Lovelo Racing `50` as does Stuart Travis (Team Bottrill). The Bynea CC `25` features Kieron Davies (Drag2Zero) while the popular Hounslow & District Wheelers 100-mile time trial has  `100` and 12-hour women’s champion Alice Lethbridge (Drag2Zero) riding.

David Taylor
CTT Publicity Officer