National 10-mile Champs - Round-up

Share this post:
Men's team winners, Brother NRG-Wattshop.

Hayley Simmonds and Dan Bigham justified their billing as pre-race favourites after becoming the National 10-Mile champions on Sunday, with Jake Wright and Caitlin Peters taking the junior crowns.

With blustery crosswinds a key theme throughout the day in Cumbria and rain falling during the men’s race, conditions were always going to be tough - yet times were good and the racing maintained a very high level.

In the women’s race, it was Hayley Simmonds (Team WNT Pro Cycling) that powered through the gales to defended her title in 20.57, making it four consecutive National crowns in a row over 10 miles.

The 29-year-old from Cambridgeshire claimed victory by 43 seconds from 100-mile and 12-hour champion Alice Lethbridge and 50-mile champion Kate Allen, the Drag2Zero pair second and third respectively.

“I am really, really happy with that,” Simmonds said after her victory. “There have been a lot of fast 10-mile times by the other women this year, some under 20 minutes.

Women's team winners, Storey Racing.

“You can never take it for granted that you are just going to turn up and win, you have got to be on your A-game.”

Simmonds now has four consecutive 10-mile titles, and only Julia Shaw has more with seven in a row.

Brother NRG-Wattshop ace Dan Bigham already had four national time-trialling titles to his name in 2017, and the form rider of year made it number five with an impressive display on Sunday.

The 25-year-old from Stoke on Trent stopped the clock in 19.01 to give himself a winning margin of 12 seconds.

Bigham now holds titles at 10, 25 and 50 miles as well as the circuit and team titles - not to mention three further successes on the track earlier this year.

“I stuck to the pacing strategy really well, there were no missed gears, no mistakes, it was just one of those days where it all went right,” Bigham said.

Raleigh GAC rider Ryan Perry was second, with Matt Langworthy completing the podium for Mid Devon CC.

It was the juniors who were first to tackle the tricky conditions this morning, with Jake Wright (Zappi RT) and Caitlin Peters (i-Team Cyclist Club) becoming the new champions.

Wright clocked 20.15 to claim his title whilst Peters - celebrating her 16th birthday - took victory in 24-minutes dead.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* For more on the individual men's, women's and juniors' championships please see the individual reports on the Event Listings pages.