Manchester & District TTA (Cheshire Points Series 1 of 20)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 14-Mar-20
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: j4/17
  • Closing Date: 03-Mar-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Royle and Knight on top in Cheshire

  • Published: 15 Mar 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Alexander Royle and Josie Knight were fastest male and female respectively at the Manchester & District TTA 10-mile time trial that took place near Goostrey in Cheshire on Saturday afternoon.

Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) clocked a time of 20-20 to finish as the fastest rider on the day and achieve his second victory of the season.

Alexander Royle

The 26-year-old was also victorious at the North Lancs RC Hilly 30 last weekend and will be hoping to continue his winning form in next weekend’s Frodsham Wheelers 22.

Dan Evans (ASSOS Equipe UK) finished second, completing his run with a time of 20-23 to miss out on the top step on the podium by a margin of only three seconds.

This was the former National Hill Climb Champion’s second podium finish of the season so far with the Welshman topping the podium at the Manchester & District TTA 10 last weekend.

David Griffiths (Bioracer-Moriarty Bikes) completed the top three after clocking a time of 20-59 respectively.

Josie Knight (Team Breeze) finished with a time of 22-54 to top the podium as the fastest female respectively.

Josie Knight

This was Knight’s first victory on her record and will be looking to add more to her tally throughout the new season.

She is next set to ride at the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 10 on Sunday and will be looking to achieve another podium finish.

Paralympic legend Sarah Storey (Storey Racing) clocked a time of 22-59 to finish as the second fastest women overall.

This was the multiple former national champion’s first podium finish of the season and she will be hoping to go one better in next weekend’s Manchester & District TAA 10.

Claire Harrison (Congleton CC) completed the women’s podium after finishing her run with a time of 25-05.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Ben Gretton.

* A full gallery of images from this event by Kimroy Photography is available here



1 Alexander Royle     Manchester Bicycle Club    20:20

2 Dan Evans     ASSOS Equipe UK 20:23

3 David Griffiths     Bioracer-Moriarty Bikes    20:59

4 Tony Greenhalgh     Team Chronomaster     21:28

5 Alan Chorley  Seamons CC 21:41

6 Alastair Ribbands   Manchester Wheelers   21:42

7 Steven Filder 3C Payment Sports     21:53

8 Adrian Hughes Seamons CC 21:58

9 Alex Raynard  Team Lifting Gear Products 22:01

10 James Rees   Seamons CC 22:03

11 Ben Watson   Para-T     22:20

12 Stephen Dooley     Seamons CC 22:23

13 Paul Whittaker     Stockport Clarion CC  22:33

14 Joel Ackers  Innovation Racing     22:35

15 Mark Hassall Surface Design Racing 22:40

16 David Parkin Salford Cycling Club  22:41

17 Hugh English Manchester Bicycle Club    22:44

18 Josie Knight Team Breeze     22:54

19 Sarah Storey Storey Racing   22:59

20 Tristan Pilling    Team SB Hub     23:14

21 Edward Chilton     Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)   23:15

22 Robert Pollen Ashley Touring CC    23:19

23 Robin Hennessy     North Wirral Velo     23:21

24 Paul Basson  ABC Centreville 23:25

25 James Brayford     Lyme Racing Club 23:57

26 Christian Fox Team Lifting Gear Products 23:59

27 Kevin Woodward     Salford Cycling Club  24:02

28 Simon Phillips     Stockport Tri Club    24:05

29 Neil Hollingsworth Rochdale Tri Club     24:16

30 Jonathan Lloyd     Westmead Team 88 24:29

31 Arthur Winstanley  Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)   24:37

32 Chris Wilcox Lyme Racing Club 24:59

33 Robbie Harcourt    Salford Cycling Club  25:00

34 Claire Harrison    Congleton CC    25:05

35 Luke Taylor  Runcorn CC 25:13

36 Andrew Ashmore     Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles     25:25

37 Richard Chambers   North Wirral Velo     25:34

38 Dave Topping North Lancashire Road Club 25:35

39 Alan Old     Port Sunlight Wheelers     25:45

40 Jamie Humphries    Westmead Team 88 25:48