Cestria Cycling Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 22-Jun-19
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 9 Miles
  • Course: M9
  • Closing Date: 11-Jun-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Team Swift duo Timmins and Frost win at Cestria CC 9

  • Published: 23 Jun 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Gemma Frost & Lewis Timmins

Lewis Timmins (Team Swift) carved 17 seconds off the course record on his way to victory in the Cestria Cycling Club nine-mile time trial while team-mate and training partner Gemma Frost won the women’s event.

Timmins, who celebrated his 32nd birthday earlier in the week was the only rider to go under 20 minutes in the warm and fast conditions clocking 19 minutes and 30 seconds.

The M9 course near Houghton-le-Spring sees riders complete two laps of a 4.5-mile loop which crosses over the A1.

Timmins, from Stobswood, in Northumberland, added the victory to his top placing in the Lancaster CC 10 and Alnwick 13 earlier this month.

Leading the men’s chasers home over a minute behind the winner was the duo of Thomas Hutchinson (Team Kirkley Cycles) and Jay Pitt (Derwentside), who shared second place with a 20.46.

The veteran’s winner was Chris Mather (Derwentside) who finished fourth overall in 20.55, Neil Wilkinson (Blaydon CC) was quickest veteran 50+ in 21.02 while Paul Tyler (Ferryhill Wheelers) was quickest age category 60+ rider in 24.24.

The Terry Proctor Trophy (in memory of the former Chairman of Cestria CC) was awarded to Stuart Britton who was the fastest home Club rider (22:55).

Fastest road bike rider was Christopher Wayman (EMC) who finished in 21.51.

“Overall, I’m really happy with my race today and chuffed to pick up my first course record,” said Timmins.

“I was a little surprised I went so quick after not feeling too great recently.  I’ve been doing lots of training with Gemma (Frost) as she prepares for an Ironman – that’s been our main focus for the past four weeks to be fair. 

“I had no idea what the course record was, but I knew a sub 20 minute ride would give me a chance of winning, which is always the first target”.

Stuart Britton (left)

Meanwhile Frost, aged 36, from Durham, clocked a winning time of 22 minutes and 42 seconds to clinch a clear win in the women’s event.

Like her team-mate Frost also won the Alnwick 13 earlier this month clocking 31.56 on that occasion.

Sarah Wilkinson (Blaydon CC) took second over a minute behind in 24.08 while her team-mate Carrie Brookes finish third a further five seconds behind.

Fastest female veteran was Teri Bayliss (Muckle CC) who clocked 25.02.

Frost said: “Well, I’m happy with my race today – for a change!

“I’ve had to be a bit selective of the races I have done over the past few weeks to ensure that they fit in with the overall training plan ahead of Challenge Roth. 

“I was really lucky not to get stuck behind any traffic today – I heard that others did which forced them to slow down.  Thanks as always to the marshals and timekeepers for sparing their time and thanks to the weather gods who were on our side today.”

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 Lewis Timmins         Team Swift     19:30

=2 Thomas Hutchinson          Team Kirkley Cycles  20:46

=2 Jay Pitt       Derwentside CC         20:46

4 Chris Mather            Derwentside CC         20:55

5 Peter Stokoe Sunderland Clarion     20:58

6 Neil Wilkinson         Blaydon CC    21:02

7 Lewis Wake Team Kirkley Cycles  21:06

8 Michael Todd          Derwentside CC         21:08

9 Daryl Oguona          Tricademy       21:10

10 Philip Kennell        GS Metro        21:21

11 Nick Badcock        Allen Valley Velo       21:22

12 Christopher Wayman         EMC Cycling  21:51

13 David Robinson     Tyneside Vagabonds CC        22:05

14 Colin Blacklock     Muckle Cycle Club     22:14

15 Michael Lynch       Derwentside CC         22:19

16 Gemma Frost         Team Swift     22:42

17 Stuart Britton         Cestria C.C.    22:55

18 Craig Foley            Tricademy       22:57

19 Neil Foster Adept Cycling 23:16

20 Paul Wright            Blaydon CC    23:18

21 John Cantrill           Blaydon CC    23:42

22 Stephen Mcintosh  Barnesbury CC           24:03

23 Sarah Wilkinson     Blaydon CC    24:08

24 Barry Fordham       Cestria C.C.    24:12

25 Carrie Brookes       Blaydon CC    24:13

26 Howie Buckingham           Allen Valley Velo       24:15

27 Paul Tyler   Ferryhill Whs  24:24

28 Rachel Galler         Blaydon CC    24:54

29 Teri Bayliss            Muckle Cycle Club     25:02

30 Paul Barrett            Wearside Triathlon     25:07

31 Barry Holyoak       South Shields Velo Cycling Club       25:17

32 Raymond Haldane Cestria C.C.    25:28

33 Allan Card South Shields Velo Cycling Club       26:48

34 Frank Devlin          South Shields Velo Cycling Club       27:18

35 Tracey Sample       Breeze Bikes RT         27:18

36 Mick Chappel        North Tyneside Riders CC     27:27

37 Amy Hugill            Tri-Life Triathlon Team          27:52