Cestria Cycling Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 23-Jun-18
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 0 Miles
  • Course: M9
  • Closing Date: 12-Jun-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Brookes and Wild fastest in Cestria CC 9

  • Published: 24 Jun 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Adam WIld

Carrie Brookes and Adam Wild were fastest as Cestria CC staged a nine-mile time trial in County Durham on Saturday.

Wild, the 21-year-old GS Metro rider, set a new course record, shaving four seconds from the previous best with a time of 19-47 which gave him the win by 11 seconds from the evergreen Keith Murray (DRAG2ZERO) who was the previous course record holder, while Collin Humphrey (Derwentside CC) was third, another 45 seconds back having completed the course on a road bike.

It was Wild’s second course record in as many outings this season, and comes after a week where he has been making adjustments to his bike ahead of this week’s British Time Trial Championship.

And Brookes, the 43-year-old North Tyneside Riders CC member from North Shields, covered the M9 Leamside circuit in 24-28 to win that category by just nine seconds from Kerry Gowland (Houghton CC), while Sarah Wilkinson (Cestria CC) was third.

After the win, Brookes said: “I really didn’t have any expectations about this morning’s race. I’ve had a bad chest for ages so I just wanted to get around and see how it went.

Carrie Brookes

“I’ve not raced on this course before but I’ve heard it’s quite technical with lots of twists and turns, so I just wanted to take the corners safely without being overly cautious.  It really was a nice varied course and I am obviously thrilled with the win!”

First junior was 15-year-old Sam Murray, the promising DRAG2ZERO youngster who finished eighth overall and will soon be eclipsing his dad Keith, while younger brother Ellis is also snapping at the heels of his ageing father having finished as second junior!

Winner of the Terry Proctor Memorial Trophy was Neil Wilkinson for Cestria CC (on a road bike in 22:15) The trophy is awarded to the fastest rider from Cestria Cycling Club in their Open TT – Terry was a founding member of the Club and was Club Chairman for many years.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Neil Wilkinson

Pos   Name  Club  Cat   Time

1     Adam Wild   GS Metro    Espoir            19:47

2     Keith Murray      DRAG2ZERO   Vet   V40   19:58

3     Collin Humphrey   Derwentside CC    Senior            20:43

4     Michael Openshaw  Reifen Racing     Vet   V40   20:59

5     Shaun Tyson Adept Cycling     Vet   V40   21:05

6     Justin Ramel      Blaydon CC  Vet   V40   21:21

7     Chris Mather      Derwentside CC    Vet   V40   21:22

8     Sam Murray  DRAG2ZERO   Juvenile    Juv   21:24

8     Richard Lilleker  Cleveland Wheelers CC   Senior            21:24

10    Marcus Cram Blaydon CC  Senior            21:30

10    Chris Burns Reifen Racing     Senior            21:30

11    Damon Devine      Reifen Racing     Vet   V40   21:34

12    Michael Johnson   Muckle Cycle Club Senior            21:36

13    Peter Stokoe      Sunderland Clarion      Senior            21:57

14    Neil Wilkinson    Cestria C.C.      Vet   V40   22:15

15    Philip KENNELL    Allen Valley Velo Vet   V50   22:16

16    Kevin Hall  Sunderland Clarion      Vet   V40   22:17

17    David Sparrow     Reifen Racing     Vet   V40   22:19

18    Michael Todd      Derwentside CC    Senior            22:39

19    James Meadows     Cleveland Wheelers CC   Senior            22:43

20    David Linsley     Tyne & Wear Fire & Rescue Service CC      Vet   V50   22:55

21    Nicholas Weddle   Houghton CC Senior            22:56

22    Paul Wright Blaydon CC  Senior            23:12

23    Stephen Walton    Muckle Cycle Club Vet   V40   23:14

24    James George Dunn South Shields Velo Cycling Club     Senior            23:34

25    Craig Foley Tricademy   Vet   V40   23:37

26    Ben Wilkinson     Cestria C.C.      Espoir            23:49

27    Paul Tyler  Ferryhill Whs     Vet   V60   24:15

28    Carrie Brookes    North Tyneside Riders CC      Vet   "V40, W"    24:28

29    Clive Horton      Barnesbury CC     Vet   V50   24:31

30    Kerry Gowland     Houghton CC Vet   "V40, W"    24:37

31    Barry Fordham     Cestria C.C.      Vet   V40   24:50

32    Sebastian Stockbridge   Blaydon CC  Senior            25:05

32    Stuart Raw  Bishop Auckland CC      Senior            25:05

34    Paul Barrett      Sunderland Clarion      Senior            25:13

35    Sarah Wilkinson   Cestria C.C.      Vet   "V40, W"    25:35

36    Rachel Galler     Blaydon CC  Senior      W     25:47

37    Hannah Baker      North Tyneside Riders CC      Senior      W     25:59

38    Ellis Murray      DRAG2ZERO   Juvenile    Juv   26:47

39    Paul Mitchell     Blaydon CC  Vet   V40   27:19

40    Frank Devlin      South Shields Velo Cycling Club     Vet   V60   27:46

41    Graeme Simpson    South Shields Velo Cycling Club     Senior            27:52

      Joanne Rea  Blaydon CC  Senior      W     APOLS

      Chris Judson      North Tyneside Riders CC      Vet   V40   APOLS

      Darren Williamson Muckle Cycle Club Vet   V40   APOLS

      Kris Atkin  Team Bottrill / Vanguard      Senior            APOLS

      Colin Gardener    Flyte Racing      Vet   V50   APOLS

      Julian MacBride   Blaydon CC  Senior            APOLS

      Steven Craggs     Blaydon CC  Senior            APOLS

      Nick Munro  Royal Air Force Cycling Association Senior            APOLS

      Craig Haslam      Muckle Cycle Club Vet   V40   DNS

      David Robinson    Tyneside Vagabonds CC   Vet   V50   DNS

      Gemma Frost Team Swift  Senior      W     DNS