Salt and Sham (SAS) Cycling Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 24-Feb-18
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: u102
  • Closing Date: 13-Feb-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Griffiths and Earle win at the Salt and Sham 10

  • Published: 25 Feb 18
F | T | G+
Josh Griffiths.

Josh Griffiths and Alice Earle were the male and female winners respectively at the Salt and Sham 10-mile time trial in Gloucestershire on Saturday afternoon.

Bristol South CC rider Griffiths, 18 and from Bristol, clocked 22.51 to win by five seconds from Matt Burden (73 Degrees CC) with third spot going to Fred Carlton (Univ of Bristol CC) who was 31 seconds slower than Griffiths.

Alice Earle (VeloVitesse-ALLCAP) won the women’s event, showing good early season form to clock 26-41, with Bethany Taylor (Salt and Sham CC) just over a minute behind and Annamarie Miles (Salt and Sham CC) completing the women's podium.

It was a gloriously sunny day for Salt and Sham CC’s first open time trial, which was well supported by their members in terms of organising and supporting.

Despite the sun it was a cold and breezy afternoon in Iron Acton, a stiff headwind on the longer outward leg coupled with the small climb shortly before the turn, making for a speedy return journey.

Griffiths is a young rider in good form with an exciting future in the sport. He clocked 21-47 in the Frome and District Wheelers 10 a week earlier, and looks set to have another good season after a 2017 which saw him record several winning rides.

In other categories Euan Taylor (Salt and Sham CC) won the junior event, while Mary-Jane Hutchinson (Bristol South CC) and Matt Burden ( (73 Degrees CC) won the respective Veterans on standard prizes.

The University of Bristol CC won the team event with the winning trio being formed of Fred Carlton, James Pittard and Oliver Walker-Hayes. And there were three tandems riding, the fastest of which was Andrew Legge and Jo Knight (Bristol South CC) who took the spoils in 23:55.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A gallery of photographs from the event, taken by RIch Lewton Photography, is available to view here