harrogate nova cc (yorkshire spoco event)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 23-Sep-17
  • Time: 14:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: v212
  • Closing Date: 12-Sep-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Mitchelson and Moore top the podium at Harrogate Nova 10

  • Published: 24 Sep 17
F | T | G+

Ian Mitchelson (Albarosa CC) and Madeline Moore (TORQ Performance) were the fastest male and female riders respectively as Harrogate Nova CC staged its late season 10-mile time trial near Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire, on Saturday afternoon.

Using the V212 course, riders headed from the start to the south of Boroughbridge, down the A168 alongside the A1 until the turn on Moor Lane before heading back north.

A good field had assembled for the event, especially given that it is a round of the Yorkshire CF SpoCo (Sporting Courses) Series as well as a counting event for the Yorkshire CF Points Series.

Veteran Mitchelson, 44 and from Ripponden in West Yorkshire, clocked 21-07 to narrowly win the event by just two seconds from fellow veteran Harry Walker (Team Swift), while just two seconds further adrift was Richard Dean (Team Swift) who completed the podium.

And in the women’s category, Moore took the win by 13 seconds from York Cycleworks rival Fiona Sharp, while Anna Docherty (Liv CC-Epic) was third, another 26 seconds off the pace.

It was Moore’s first open win of the season, although she has been in good form in 2017.

She was part of the bronze medal winning team in the National Team Time Trial Championships (held on nearby roads alongside the A1 in North Yorkshire), while she was also third fastest woman in the competitive Selby CC 10 on the fast V718 course in East Yorkshire.

She is next in action in the Warrington RC two-up 25-mile event in Cheshire next weekend, where she will team up with Richard Walker (Sowerby Brothers CRT).

A prolific rider with dozens of performances to his name in 2017, Mitchelson’s win was nevertheless his first of the season.

Notable performances for the 44-year-old include third in the Valley Striders CC 25 in July, and third in both the Halifax Imperial Wheelers 25 and Yorkshire RC 25 in June.

The Yorkshire Cycling Federation’s 25-mile time trial next Sunday is the next target for Mitchelson.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1     Ian   Mitchelson  Albarosa CC V40   21:07

2     Harry Walker      Team Swift  V40   21:09

3     Richard     Dean  Team Swift  S     21:11

4     Dave Bramley     Team Swift  V40   21:26

5     Nick  Rogers      Team Swift  S     21:36

6     Mark Flannery    Team Swift  V40   21:43

7     Michael     Smart TS Racing Team - OTR    S     21:57

8     Joe   Simons      Albarosa CC S     22:01

9     Michael     Schofield   York Cycleworks   V50   22:01

10    Pete  Nixon Seacroft Whs      V40   22:04

11    Liam  Golton      Selby CC    E     22:06

12    Matthew     Hallam      Valley Striders CC      S     22:13

13    James Gough Barnsley Road Club      V40   22:25

14    David Robinson    Tyneside Vagabonds      V50   22:29

15    Peter Hook  VC York     S     22:33

16    Roman Tuma  Albarosa CC V50   22:37

17    Dan   Evans Adept Precision RT      V40   22:37

18    Paul  Fountain    Hartlepool CC     V50   22:37

19    Daniel      Shaw  Halifax Imperial Wheelers     V40   22:48

20    Oliver      Potter      Rockingham CC     S     22:53

21    Mark  Haynes      Albarosa CC V40   23:03

22    Ian   Brown Seacroft Whs      V40   23:05

23    Garreth     Bruff Barnsley Road Club      V40   23:06

24    Adrian      Stott Jackpot Racing    V40   23:10

25    Chris Day   Selby CC    S     23:21

26    Adam  Cockroft    Albarosa CC V40   23:22

27    Mark  Johnson     Yorkshire Road Club     V50   23:25

28    Paul  McAllister  Cheshire CAT      V40   23:28

29    Sean  Sanders     Drighlington BC   V40   23:30

30    Andy  Whitehead   Rockingham CC     V50   23:30

31    Mark  Tinkler     Hartlepool CC     V50   23:34

32    Roy   Burne Team Swift  V50   23:41

33    Stephen     Lloyd Bronte Whs  V40   23:48

34    Madeline    Moore TORQ Performance  W     23:57

35    Kevin       Dearden     HD Revolutions    V50   24:02

36    John  Woods Harrogate Nova CC V40   24:04

37    Alasdair    Bruce Yorkshire Road Club     V60   24:07

38    Fiona Sharp York Cycleworks   W     24:10

39    Steven      Smith Yorkshire Road Club     V50   24:11

40    Simon Wright      York Cycleworks   V50   24:23

41    Anna Docherty    Liv CC - Epic Coaching  WJ    24:36

42    David Young Albarosa CC V50   24:41

43    Eleanor     Haresign    TORQ Performance  W     24:51

44    Stu   Sklinar     Albarosa CC S     24:56

45    Jeff  Belt  Stockton Wheelers CC    V40   24:58

46    Richard     Durham      Settle Wheelers   V60   25:01

47    Paul  Brierley    Huddersfield RC   V50   25:02

48    David Lacy  Airedale Olympic  V50   25:04

49    Walter      Wilkinson   Harrogate Nova CC V70   25:08

50    Tony  Kent  Harrogate Nova CC V60   25:10

51    Andrew      Lambe Ilkley CC   V40   25:13

52    Rachael     Mellor      Holmfirth C C     WV50  25:14

53    Christopher       Mawer       Harrogate Nova CC V50   25:18

54    Paul  Ruta  Barnsley Road Club      V70   25:30

55    Sarah Lewthwaite  East Bradford CC  WV40  25:39

56    James George      HD Revolutions    V40   25:40

57    Mike  Potter      Scarborough Paragon     V50   25:49

58    Jessica     Kaye Harrogate Nova CC W     25:51

59    James Bottrill    Salford Cycling Club    J     25:59

60    Mark  Lansdown    Albarosa CC V60   26:03

61    Tony  Stott VTTA (Yorkshire)  V70   26:03

62    Claire      Jessop      Otley CC    WV40  26:04

63    Jean  Croft Harrogate Nova CC WV50  26:14

64    Ashley      Reynolds    Valley Striders CC      S     26:31

65    Helen Goldthorpe  Otley CC    W     26:51

66    John  Hallas      Valley Striders CC      V60   27:11

67    Michael     Hutchings   Harrogate Nova CC V50   27:19

68    John  Tiffany     Harrogate Nova CC V70   27:48

69    Alexander   Hamshaw     Harrogate Nova CC Juv   27:52

70    Tony  Jackson     Leeds Westfield CC      V50   28:08

71    Rachel      Smith Ravensthorpe CC   W     28:20

72    John Baines      Yorkshire Road Club     V70   28:24

73    David       Jenkinson   Team Swift  V60   28:33

74    Liz   Hills Otley CC    WV40  28:45

75    Ben   Jacklyn     Harrogate Nova CC Juv   29:26

76    Ala   Whitehead   Rockingham CC     WV40  30:35

77    Lloyd Ragsdale Miller   Harrogate Nova CC Juv   31:32

78    Matthew     Mullier     Harrogate Nova CC Juv   33:10

      Peter Watson      Harrogate Nova CC S     DNF

      Alexandra   Raine Huddersfield Star Whs   WV50  DNS

      Suzie Richards    Albarosa CC W     DNS

      Maria Mulleady    Team Swift  W     DNS

      Susan Sanders     Drighlington BC   WV40  DNS

      Lorna Potter      Seacroft Whs      WV40  DNS

      Kirsty      Smith Team Swift  WV40  DNS

      Isaac Hulse VC York     J     DNS

      Glen  Turnbull    Patron      V40   DNS

      Martin      Giles Valley Striders CC      S     DNS

      Mike  Cole  Huddersfield RC   V70   DNS

      Nigel Warnes      York Cycleworks   V50   DNS

      Greg  Jessop      Otley CC    V50   DNS

      Wayne Aylesbury   Yorkshire Road Club     V50   DNS

      Robert      Cooke Rockingham CC     V40   DNS

      Patrick     Warren      Ellmore Factory Racing  V50   DNS

      Aidan Adams Harrogate Nova CC S     DNS

      Mark  Walker      Wold Top Actif RT S     DNS

      Gary  Hunt  Hartlepool CC     V50   DNS

      Craig Moody VTTA (Yorkshire)  V50   DNS

      Blair Buss  SSLL Racing Team  V50   DNS

      Christophe  Demoulin    York Cycleworks   S     DNS

      Mark  Wolstenholme      Team Swift  S     DNS