bdca (90 riders, 72 m, 18 w) (cheques to j hugill)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Jun-16
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: A50/6
  • Closing Date: 14-Jun-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Dewey top in Etwall

  • Published: 26 Jun 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

John Dewey (Team Bottrill) took victory in the BDCA 50 on the A50/6 at Etwall, Derbyshire on Saturday, taking the lead from Stephen Irwin by a comfortable time of 40 seconds.

Dewey crossed the line at 1:37:57 to leave North Lancs RC’s Irwin lagging in second on the course that connects Etwall and Blythe Bridge.

The victory for Dewey came hot on the heels of the first place finish he took at the Mid-Shropshire Wheelers in May when he took the race by almost two clear minutes, but the Dorking rider had to settle for a more modest success this time out.

Irwin has taken victory at the Lancashire Road Club in May and again at the Walsall RC earlier in June but was unable to replicate the result here against Dewey.

Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) took third with a time of 1:39:29, whilst Colin Ward (Essex Road CC) took fourth with 1:40:34 and Keith Murray (Drag2Zero) was fifth on 1:41:16.

The fastest woman rider was Angela Hibbs (Fusion RT) on 1:50:03 whilst Irwin’s second-place finish was enough to make him the fastest veteran.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. John Dewey (Team Bottrill)           1:37:57

2. Stephen Irwin (North Lancs RC)   1:38:37

3. Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest)     1:39:29

4. Colin Ward (Essex Road CC)        1:40:34

5. Keith Murray (Drag2Zero) 1:41:16

6. Mark Turnbull (Torq Performance) 1:41:50

7. Joel Wainman (SSLL Racing Team)           1:42:50

8. Daniel Blay (Team Volovelocity)   1:43:00

9. Aaron Ward (Team Bottrill)           1:43:42

10. Mark Corbett (Worcester St Johns CC)    1:44:29