North Lancashire Road Club (Hilly)(NLTTA Spoco)(Circuit of the Dales)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-Apr-23
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: L503/R - DALES
  • Closing Date: 21-Mar-23 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Casey and Wiejak climb to victories at Circuit of the Dales 50

  • Published: 03 Apr 23
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Patrick Casey

Junior rider Patrick Casey (Anexo Group Race Team) stormed to victory by over six minutes in the North Lancashire Road Club 50 (Circuit of the Dales), while Christina Wiejak (Saint Piran) was equally as impressive winning the women’s event.

Casey, aged 17, won the National 10-mile Championship in his age category last season and was on top form posting a time of one hour, 56 minutes and 17 seconds.

The Circuit of the Dales course sees riders start and finish near Ingleton before completing a 50-mile loop including a return section through the Yorkshire Dales.

Riders started on the A683 heading through Tunstall and continuing for the opening 19 miles to Sedbergh.

Competitors then continue along the A683 running alongside the Clough River down to Hawes coming after 34 miles.

Riders then turn onto the B6255 through the Yorkshire Dales National Park for a tough final leg down to the finish.

Junior rider Casey was on fine form with his winning time 6-28 faster than quickest veteran on scratch Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) stopping the clock in 2-02-45. Bideau also led Pendle Forest CC to the team award.

Christina Wiejak

Richard Nesfield (Giant-Kendal-Sidas.Uk) led the battle for third in a time of 2-04-14. After a 50-mile gruelling battle only 10 seconds separated Matt Morris (Wigan Whs CC) in fourth (2-05-40) and second veteran on scratch Jude Taylor (Team PB Performance).

“It was an alright day out,” said Casey. “I did it last year so I knew what I was getting myself into. It went pretty well and there’s not as much climbing as you think there is.

“With it still being early in the season and want to do as many time trials as I can.”

In the women’s event Wiejak took an impressive victory with her time of 2-19-20 some 10 minutes and 15 seconds faster than her nearest opponent.

The 30-year-old also won the Barrow Central Wheelers 20.2-mile event last month and comfortably recorded her second open time trial win of the season this time out.

Molly Savill (Albarosa CC) finish second woman in 2-29-35 while Joanna Cebrat (360cycling) was third (2-33-06).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A gallery of images from this event is available here



1 Patrick Casey (Anexo Group Race Team) 1:56.17
2 Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) 2:02.45
3 Richard Nesfield (Giant-Kendal-Sidas.Uk) 2:04.14
4 Matt Morris (Wigan Whs CC) 2:05.40
5 Jude Taylor (Team PB Performance) 2:05.50
6 Tristan Pulling (360cycling) 2:07.11

Team: Pendle Forest CC

1 Christina Wiejak (Saint Piran) 2:19.20
2 Molly Savill (Albarosa CC) 2:29.35
3 Joanna Cebrat (360cycling) 2:33.06
4 Eleanor Williams (Bioracer) 2:36.25
5 Sue Cheetham (North Lancashire Road Club) 2:46.55
6 Emma Glen (Springfield Financial) 3:07.17