Rugby Racing Cycling Club (150 riders inc up to 40 women)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Jul-22
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: K11/10T
  • Closing Date: 19-Jul-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Games athletes Rebours and Conyers win at Rugby RCC 10

  • Published: 31 Jul 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Jack Rebours

Fine tuning their preparations for the Commonwealth Games time trial Jack Rebours (Caesarean CC - Jersey) and Caitlin Conyers (Rugby RCC/ Bermuda) won the Rugby Racing Cycling Club 10 in Warwickshire on Saturday.

Both athletes were in the area ahead of Thursday’s Commonwealth Games event in Wolverhampton and took the opportunity to take an open time trial win each.

Rebours, from Jersey, was pushed all the way for victory with his winning time of 19 minutes and 11 seconds a single second faster than his nearest rival.

The K11/10T saw riders start on the A45 (Coventry Road) near Thurlaston before heading out north-westerly out to Ryston-on-Dunsmore before making the return journey.

Rebours travelled to the UK for last year’s National 25-mile Championship finishing 24th but had more success this time out.

Caitlin Conyers

He was pushed all the way by veteran David Mead (Hinckley Cycle Racing Club) who was denied victory by a single second finishing in 19-12.

It was a good day for the Jersey athletes as Dean Robson (Velo Sport Jersey) completed the podium positions finishing third in 19-47.

Spindata had predicted that Robson would beat fellow Jersey rider Rebours but the Caesarean CC rider reversed that prediction finishing 36 seconds faster.

Despite being fastest veteran on scratch Mead had to settle for second on standard with his time +7.20 beaten by Keith Ainsworth (Lindsey Roads Cycling Club) with the 63-year-old finishing fifth overall in 20-25 which equated to a standard of +7.20.

In the women’s event visiting Bermudan athlete Conyers recorded a winning time of 21-45 which was 11 seconds faster than her nearest rival.

It was Conyers first open time trial event and she took victory at her first attempt.

She was pushed all the way by Sian Marsh (Team Boompods) who had to settle for second in 21-56 while Fay Barrington (Banbury Star Cyclists' Club) finished third (23-44).

The winning team was Team Jewson - MI Racing-Poly Pipe-McCann which consisted of Ben Rooney, Mark Wise and Gregory Ashley.

Meanwhile, the quickest youth rider in the National Youth Championship qualifier was Nicholas Marsh (Rugby Velo) who recorded a time of 21-04.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A gallery of images from this event is available here




1.Jack Rebours (Caesarean CC - Jersey) 19:11

2.David Mead (Hinckley Cycle Racing Club) 19:12

3. Dean Robson (Velo Sport Jersey) 19:47

4. Daniel Chambers (Bicester Millennium CC) 20:18

5. Keith Ainsworth (Lindsey Roads Cycling Club) 20:25

6. Paul Westwood (Lichfield City Cycling Club) 20:29



1.Caitlin Conyers (Rugby RCC/ Bermuda) 21:45

2. Sian Marsh (Team Boompods) 21:56

3. Fay Barrington (Banbury Star Cyclists' Club) 23:44

4. Diana Egerton-Warburton (Team Jewson-MI Racing) 23:45

5. Deborah Sheridan (Warwickshire Road Club) 25:15

6. Jennifer Clegg (Team Bottrill) 25:18


Vet on Standard:

1. Keith Ainsworth (Lindsey Roads Cycling Club) +07:48

2.David Mead (Hinckley Cycle Racing Club) +07:20

3. Roger Porter (Verulam CC) +06:49


Team: Team Jewson - MI Racing (Ben Rooney, Mark Wise, Gregory Ashley) 1h 04m 21s


National Youth Championship Qualifier (Midland DC):

Nicholas Marsh (Rugby Velo) 21:04