Brighton Mitre CC (max 120 riders 6 events)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 31-May-21
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: G10/97
  • Closing Date: 18-May-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

McNamara and Turner victorious in Brighton Mitre 10

  • Published: 01 Jun 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Victory in the Brighton Mitre CC 10-mile time trial on Bank Holiday Monday went to Chris McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport), while Sally Turner (trainSharp) was quickest woman.

A good morning with early 12 degree temperatures rose to 20 degrees by the time the later hilly 10-mile event was completed.

46-year-old McNamara clocked an event record time of 19-37 to win by36 seconds from trainSharp Development Team rider Harry Ives, with third spot going to Matthew Smith (Team TMC), just three seconds further back.

Smith led Team TMC to the team prize alongside Mark Emsley and Tom Houghton, while in the medium gear event the spoils went to Theo Tadros (trainSharp) in 23-27 which was more than two minutes quicker than runner-up Steven Woodbridge (GS Stella).

The riders used the G10/97 course which uses the A283 from the Steyning bypass towards the outskirts of Shoreham-by-Sea in West Sussex.

Sussex Revolution VC rider Jan Grosicki clocked 22-10 to win the road bike title by 28 seconds from Jack Dunne (Lindfield Coffee Works), while Liz Sim (Medway Tri) was fastest on a road bike without aero spec.

Before this win McNamara had already tasted victory this season, with the Bec CC 10 on Saturday as well as in the Crawley Wheelers sporting 41.6-mile time trial in April.

He is hoping to continue his good form at the East Sussex CA 50 on June 13, as well as the Horsham Cycling 10 the following weekend and the Crawley Wheelers 10 in early July.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1              Chris McNamara               Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT                     19  37 (event record)

2              Harry Ives                            trainsharp Development Team                  20  13

3              Matthew Smith                 Team TMC                                                          20  16

4              Jacob Storey                      Partenza-Nude Espresso RT                         20  18

5              Kevin Nelson                      Crawley Whls.                                                    20  28

6              Mark Smith                         Crawley Whls.                                                    20  47

1st Team   Team TMC  1   3  30 (Matthew Smith, Mark Emsley  21 33, Tom Houghton  21  41)

1st Woman:  Sally Turner                               Trainsharp                                           22  11



Road bikes “10”

1                 Jan Grosicki                     Sussex Revolution VC                                     22  10

2                 Jack Dunne                      Lindfield Coffee Works                                  22  38

3                 Dan Ellis                            BTNRT                                                                   23  29

1st Woman:   Liz Sim                        Medway Tri                                                        32  08



Medium Gear “10”

1st           Theo Tadros                       Trainsharp                                                           23  27

2              Steven Woodbridge        GS Stella                                                               25  37

3              Tony Reeves                      GS Stella                                                               26  42