Ilkeston Cycle Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 05-Sep-21
  • Time: 12:00
  • Distance: 1.1 Km
  • Course: AHC/3
  • Closing Date: 24-Aug-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Bell and Langham charge to victories in Holly Lane HC

  • Published: 06 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Tom Bell

Tom Bell (High North Performance) showed his off-season work by knocking six seconds off his course record in the Holly Lane Hill Climb organised by Ilkeston Cycle Club, while Zoe Langham (Beeston Cycling Club) stomped to victory in the women’s event.

Bell finished second in last year’s National Hill Climb Championship finishing just a second behind winner Andrew Feather (

The 31-year-old set a winning time of two minutes and 53.7 seconds knocking six seconds off his previous course record set last year.

The AHC/3 Holly Lane Hill Climb takes place near Ambergate in Derbyshire starting on the banks of the River Derwent with a steady start before the climb kicks up with a maximum gradient of 16.2% and average gradient of 12.2%.

The 0.92-kilometre climb starts in tree-lined road which then opens up and rises steeply towards the top.

The field of 52 riders were greeted with bright sunshine and the lightest of tailwinds to help times,

Despite the steepness of the climb Bell recorded an average speed of over 14.2 miles per hour to take his first open victory of the season on his first outing.

Leon Wright (Race Hub) won the Leicester Forest 10 and Peak RC HC earlier this season but was beaten into second on this occasion finishing 14 seconds back in 3-07.7.

The battle for third could not have been closer with Joshua Aitken (Orwell Velo) finishing in 3-10.1 which was just two hundredths of a second quicker than leading junior rider Dan Taylor (Leicester Forest CC).

Quickest veteran was Matt Lawton (Macclesfield Wheelers) whose time 3-19.1 which was two seconds faster than fellow veteran Darrell Clarke (Ilkeston Cycle Club) (3-21.0).

Meanwhile, Langham took victory in just her second open time trial clocking a time of 4-02.6.

The 22-year-old’s only other open event was a second in last year’s Holly Lane Hill Climb event going five seconds slower in 4-07.9.

Becky Hair (Magspeed Racing) won the Peak RC hill climb in June but had to settle for second this time out in 4-15.1.

Completing the podium positions was quickest veteran Sophie Yarwood (Macclesfield Wheelers) who finished in 4-37.7 ahead of second veteran Sonia Insley (Bolsover and District CC) in 5-58.7.

Ilkeston Cycle Club were able to raise £490.09 from the event that will go to the Children’s Cancer and Leukaemia Group charity.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.