Norwich ABC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 03-Jul-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: B10/43
  • Closing Date: 22-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Blackburn and Leech snatch victories in Norwich ABC 10

  • Published: 04 Jul 21
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Dan Blackburn

Veteran Dan Blackburn (Epic Orange Race Team) took his first victory of the season in the Norwich ABC 10, while Gillian Leech (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) won the women’s event by just three seconds.

Blackburn, aged 44, finished second in the C.C Breckland 10 last month but went one better on this occasion winning in a time of 20 minutes and 48 seconds.

The B10/43 saw riders start north of Harleston as riders headed out and back on the A143 to Bungay before making the return journey.

The forecasted rain that had threatened the event did not materialise and riders were greeted with dry but humid conditions.

However, times were impacted by a headwind to the finish which seemed to rise and fall through the afternoon.

Blackburn was not to be denied on this occasion and his time of 20-48 was 22 seconds clear of his nearest rival.

A close battle for second saw Julian Bosley (Stowmarket & District CC) finish runner-up in 21-10 which was just five seconds quicker than Peter Kerry (Plomesgate CC) (21-15).

The quickest veteran on standard was Andrew Grant (Cambridge CC) whose time of 21-41 equated to +7.35.

Veteran rider Leech won the Maldon & Dist CC 50 on her last outing and took a narrow victory on this occasion.

Leech posted a time of 23-16 which was just three seconds faster than Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Cycle Sport) (23-19) while Kerry Tate (Newmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club) finished third in 23-41.

Hurren was the quickest veteran woman on standard with her time of 23-19 equating to a standard of +6.42.

The event also featured the East DC qualifier for the National Youth Championship.

Jamie Bretton (VC Baracchi) took top spot in a time of 23-49 ahead of Thomas Lewis (Ely & District CC/B&T Motor Repairs) in second (25-37) and Michael Swindells (Iceni Velo) in third (28-59).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

1 Dan Blackburn (Epic Orange Race Team) 20.48
2 Julian Bosley (Stowmarket & District CC) 21.10
3 Peter Kerry (Plomesgate CC) 21.15
4 Stuart Supple (VC Baracchi) 21.19
5 Dave Clark (Orwell Velo) 21.22
6 Andrew Grant (Cambridge CC) 21.23
7 Paul Hayward (VC Baracchi) 21.41
8 John Swindells (Iceni Velo) 21.58
9 David Ackerley (Team JMC) 21.58
10 Colin Lizieri (Cambridge CC) 22.09

Veteran on standard: Andrew Grant (Cambridge CC) +7.35

1 Gillian Leech (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) 23.16
2 Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Cycle Sport) 23.19
3 Kerry Tate (Newmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club) 23.41
Veteran on standard: Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Cycle Sport) +6.42

1 Jamie Bretton (VC Baracchi) 23.49
2 Thomas Lewis (Ely & District CC/B&T Motor Repairs) 25.37
3 Michael Swindells (Iceni Velo) 28.59