Southern Counties CU

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-Sep-20
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: G25/55
  • Closing Date: 25-Aug-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Kyffin and Place battle to victories in Southern Counties CU 25

  • Published: 07 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Under-23 rider Zeb Kyffin (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) took victory in his first open time trial of the season at the Southern Counties CU 25, while Valerie Place (7Oaks Tri Club) won the women’s event.

Kyffin, aged 22, clocked a provisional course record time of 50 minutes and 21 seconds around the undulating route around the Surrey countryside near Dorking.

The testing G25/55 course saw riders start near Dorking before heading south on the A24 before completing an out and back loop.

Riders then completing one big loop which headed out on the A29 and then cutting across to Kingfold and heading back on the A24.

Competitors followed this with a smaller loop cutting across half of the bigger loop before heading back to the start/finish in South Holmwood.

The course was described as lumpy with a tough road surface and more suited to road racers than traditional time trialists.

Kyffin, preparing for the National 25 Championships later this month, stormed around the course winning by 58 seconds.

Scratch rider Christopher McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) won the Utag RT 10 the previous day but was comfortably beaten on this occasion and had to settle for second in 51-19.

While Andy Critchlow (Norwood Paragon CC) completed the podium positions clocking 53-10.

Veteran rider Price took her first victory of the season in the women’s event clocking a winning time of 1-09-27.

Nicola Spensley (Kent Velo Girls/Boys) finished second in 1-11-25 while Glenda Goscomb  (7Oaks Tri Club) completed the podium positions in 1-13-46.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1.    Zeb    Kyffin                                Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling                00:50:21
2.    Christopher    McNamara        Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT            00:51:19
3.    Andy    Critchlow                    Norwood Paragon CC                             00:53:10
4.    Charlie    Bailey                        Lee Valley Youth CC                                00:54:13
5.    Colin    McDermott                Festival Road Club                                     00:54:48
6.    Edward    Hales                        London Dynamo                                         00:54:56
7.    Peter    Merritt                        TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling P/b Trainsharp     00:55:32
8.    Marek Siwicki                      Addiscombe CC                                                 00:56:42
9.    John    Franklin                        Twickenham CC                                           00:57:01
10.    Paul    Haywood                    Epsom CC                                                     00:57:40

1.    Valerie    Place                7Oaks Tri Club                                                     01:09:27
2.    Nicola    Spensley            Kent Velo Girls/Boys                                         01:11:25
3.    Glenda    Goscomb            7Oaks Tri Club                                                 01:13:46