Sherwood CC (Preference to Sherwood CC Members) (Cheques Payable to Sherwood CC ONLY)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 18-Sep-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: A10/3
  • Closing Date: 10-Sep-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Giddings and Clarke break age group records on way to winning Sherwood CC 10

  • Published: 19 Sep 21
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Lindsay Clarke

Junior rider Joshua Giddings (Z Junior Race Team) set a provisional competition record on his way to winning the Sherwood CC 10, while veteran Lindsay Clarke (Fenland Clarion CC) also broke her age group record on her way to winning the women’s event.

Giddings, aged 18, set a new course record of 17 minutes and 48 seconds on a perfect day and took 28 seconds off the previous junior competition record of 18-16.

In perfect conditions in Nottinghamshire a host of personal bests were broken with Giddings taking over a minute off his best mark.

The A10/3 starts at Bingham, near Nottingham, and sees riders compete out and back along the A46 to Elston before making the return journey.

Riders were greeted by a light south westerly wind and a temperature of 22 degrees Celsius for the event.

Giddings had already won the Coventry CC 10 and Coalville Wheelers 10 this season and took his third open victory in fine style recording an average speed of over 33.7 miles per hour.

The previous course record mark was also smashed previously held by Dan Bigham of 18-31.

Scratch rider Oliver Peckover (SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling) came into the event on the back of eight wins from nine events this season.

Despite having ridden last week’s Tour of Britain the 23-year-old also broke the course record but had to settle for second on this occasion in 17-56.

Axel Dopfer (Team Bottrill) also took a minute off his previous open personal best to take third in 18-36 ahead of team-mate and quickest veteran on scratch Neal Parkin who clocked 18-59.

Organiser Roger Widdowson (Sherwood CC) rode at number 88, the age of his mother who was recently diagnosed with terminal cancer and all proceeds from the event went to MacMillan Cancer Support.

Widdowson was amongst those who stormed to a personal best time clocking 21-54.

In the women’s event veteran Clarke set a record for her age group of 22 minutes and one second to take victory.

Clarke, aged 59, also won the Northampton & District CA 10 last month in 25-01 but went exactly three minutes quicker on this occasion.

Fellow veteran Denise Burrows (AeroCoach) was just 10 seconds back in 22-11 while Michelle Morley (Swift Racing) finished third in 25-13.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

1 Joshua Giddings (Z Junior Race Team) 17.48
2 Oliver Peckover (SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling) 17.56
3 Axel Dopfer (Team Bottrill) 18.36
4 Neal Parkin (Team Bottrill) 18.59
5 Matthew Stonley (Mapperley CC) 19.27
6 Ewan Mackie (Ilkeston Cycle Club) 19.32

1 Lindsay Clarke (Fenland Clarion CC) 22.01
2 Denise Burrows (AeroCoach) 22.11
3 Michelle Morley (Swift Racing) 25.13