Blaydon CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 14-Jul-19
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 14 Miles
  • Course: m14
  • Closing Date: 02-Jul-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Victories for Wilkinson and Crammond in County Durham

  • Published: 14 Jul 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Graham Crammond

Graham Crammond and Sarah Wilkinson finished top man and woman in the Blaydon CC 14-mile time-trial hosted in Edmundbyers, County Durham on Sunday morning.

Graham Crammond (Team Swift) made it a hat-trick of victories in 2019 with a statement win over the 14-mile M14 course.

Crammond clocked a time of 34-31 – over two and a half minutes quicker than next best Jamie Johnson (Barnesbury CC) in second place.

“I went for it from the start but that climb is something else and I started to struggle. Once over the top, I just tried to keep the power down in the hope of getting any time lost back by the finish line,” said Crammond.

Second place Johnson chose to ride a road bike to tackle the tricky climb. His time may have been well down overall but his tactic to attack the climb payed off and was rewarded with the King of the Mountain prize, tackling the climb in 12-25 as part of his 37-11 overall time.

Third place went to Clive Allan (Allen Valley Velo) with a time of 37-18. His podium finish is his highest TT finish to date!

Sarah Wilkinson (Blaydon CC) topped the women’s field in a time of 42-15 as well as taking the Queen of the Mountain title in an improved performance from last year.

Sarah Wilkinson

Wilkinson’s doubled her season’s win tally with her first coming only last weekend in the North Tyneside Riders 27-mile open event.

“Overall I was really pleased with the win & QoM. I was 2mins 46 faster than last year. Weather conditions were good as the drizzle had stopped by the time I started. I felt strong up the climb & I had the advantage of the Bladies (Sarah’s female team-mates from Blaydon CC) cheering at the top!” said Wilkinson.

Team-mate Rachel Galler was second in 43-42 and Teri Bayliss (Muckle CC) completed the podium with a time of 46-44.



Pos  Name Club Gender     Cat  Time

1    Graham Crammond Team Swift Male Senior     34:31

2    Jamie Johnson    Barnesbury CC   Male Senior     37:11

3    Clive Allan     Allen Valley Velo    Male Senior     37:18

Jamie Johnson

4    Simon Gibbs     Reifen Racing   Male Veteran    37:22

5    Chris Burns     Reifen Racing   Male Senior     37:52

6    Scott Mccance    Derwentside CC  Male Veteran    37:53

7    Peter Stokoe     Sunderland Clarion   Male Senior     38:08

8    Ian Dick   Derwentside CC  Male Senior     38:35

9    Ian Norris     Male Veteran    38:37

10   Simon Emsley     Derwentside CC  Male Veteran    38:38

11   Christopher Beaty    Allen Valley Velo    Male Senior     38:54

12   Christopher     Wayman     EMC Cycling     Male Senior     39:03

13   Peter Herdman    Blaydon CC Male Veteran    39:18

14   Colin Blacklock  Muckle Cycle Club    Male Veteran    39:23

15   Neil Pendrich   SVTTA Male Veteran    39:35

16   Nicholas   Stevenson  Wearside Triathlon   Male Veteran    40:09

17   John Paul  Herron     Derwentside CC  Male Veteran    40:17

18   Daniel     Holmes     Derwentside CC  Male Juvenile   40:28

19   Noel Stoddart   Blaydon CC Male Veteran    41:07

20   Tom  Guy  Sunderland Clarion   Male Veteran    41:10

21   Ian  Gallon     North Tyneside Riders CC   Male Veteran    41:16

22   Craig Foley Tricademy  Male Veteran    41:22

23   Neil Parkin     Derwentside CC  Male Veteran    41:31

24   Sarah Wilkinson  Blaydon CC Female     Veteran    42:15

25   John Cantrill   Blaydon CC Male Veteran    42:39

26   Geoff Keighley   Blaydon CC Male Senior     43:00

27   James George    Dunn South Shields Velo Cycling Club Male Senior     43:05

28   Ian  Coates     Derwentside CC  Male Senior     43:23

29   Neil Wilkinson  Blaydon CC Male Veteran    43:37

30   Rachel     Galler     Blaydon CC Female     Senior     43:42

31   Keith Sibbald    Zeus CRT   Male Veteran    44:05

32   Craig Usher North Tyneside Riders CC   Male Senior     44:45

33   Teri Bayliss    Muckle Cycle Club    Female     Veteran    46:44

34   Paul Barrett    Wearside Triathlon   Male Senior     47:26

35   Raymond    Bell Derwentside CC  Male Veteran    47:46

36   Sandy Cheung     Reifen Racing   Female     Veteran    49:13

37   Jay  Sully Blaydon CC Male Veteran    01:00:44

     Julian     Macbride   Team Kirkley Cycles  Male Senior     DNF

     Mark Robertson  Army Cycling    Male Senior     DNS

     Colin Gardener   Flyte Racing    Male Veteran    DNS

     Paul Wright     Blaydon CC Male Senior     DNS(A)

     Sandy Waller     Edinburgh Road Club  Male Senior     DNS(A)

     Venda Louise    Pollock    Blaydon CC Female     Veteran    DNS(A)

     David Symes Blaydon CC Male Veteran    DNS(A)

     Lisa Baker Muckle Cycle Club    Female     Veteran    DNS(A)