sotonia cc (sporting)(time trial bikes)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 28-Jul-18
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 0 Miles
  • Course: p183
  • Closing Date: 17-Jul-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Gritton and Faber battle to victories in Sotonia CC Sporting 14.5

  • Published: 29 Jul 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Men's Time Trial podium

Host club rider Ant Gritton took victory in the Sotonia CC Sporting 14.5 while Faye Faber (Bike Jockey CC) took a surprise win in the women’s event near Nomansland in Hampshire on Saturday.

Gritton, who finished seventh in the second round of the Knight Composite Classic Series, took victory on this occasion finishing in 35 minutes and 19 seconds.

The reorganised event was delayed from March when heavy snow prevented the running of the race.

The looped circuit saw riders start near Landford and the opening five miles of rolling roads were sheltered from the wind.

The next five miles on flatter roads left competitors exposed with a strong headwind. A final rolling section led to a two-minute long steep climb up to the finish.

Gritton led the way ahead of Paul Lockyer (New Forest CC) who finished 14 seconds back in 35.33 while Julian Lockwood (Primera-Teamjobs) took third in 36.50.

Faber provided an upset in the women’s event by beating strong favourite Hayley Simmonds (Team WNT Pro Cycling) by 31 seconds.

Women's time trial

The 35-year-old clocked a winning time of 39 minutes and 57 seconds faster than Simmonds, who is battling back to fitness from having surgery, finishing in 40.28.

Meanwhile Kirsty McSeveney (Fareham Wheelers CC) took third in 41.52.

The men’s road bike event saw a joint winner with Dave Dent (GS Stella) and Ben Skinner (Rule 5) both finishing in 36.38.

Finally, in the women’s road bike event Chrissie Slot (IRIS Race Team) took victory clocking 46.24 ahead of Kym Harvey (Fat Creations) who took second in 47.01.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Men TT

Men's road bike winners

1 Ant Gritton (Sotonia CC) 35.19                                                                             

2 Paul Lockyer (New Forest CC 35.33                                                         

3 Julian Lockwood (Primera-Teamjobs) 36.50                                  

4 Brendan Reese (Army Cycling Union) 37.00                                                         

5 Andy Smith (Velo Club St Raphael) 37.08                                                

6 Peter Younghusband (Petersfield Triathlon Club) 37.32


Women TT

1 Faye Faber (Bike Jockey CC) 39.57

2 Hayley Simmonds (Team WNT Pro Cycling) 40.28          

Women's road bike category

3 Kirsty McSeveney (Fareham Wheelers CC) 41.52


Men road bikes

=1 Dave Dent (GS Stella) 36.38

=1 Ben Skinner (Rule 5) 36.38

3 Ed Slot (Sotonia CC) 36.50


Women road bikes

1 Chrissie Slot (IRIS Race Team) 46.24

2 Kym Harvey (Fat Creations) 47.01