East Bradford CC (Yorkshire Spoco Event)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 03-Jun-18
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 0 Miles
  • Course: V221
  • Closing Date: 22-May-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Victories for Sharp and Lewthwaite in East Bradford CC 15

  • Published: 04 Jun 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Richard Sharp

Richard Sharp and Sarah Lewthwaite powered to victories as the East Bradford CC staged a 15-mile time trial on a sporting course in North Yorkshire on Sunday.

Team Swift rider Sharp, 35 and from Hayton near Pocklington, clocked 32-03 for the V221 course near Grafton, giving him the win by 40 seconds from 45-year-old veteran Ian Mitchelson (Albarosa CC), while third spot went to Duncan Mullier, Harrogate Nova CC’s evergreen 48-year-old vet who was 1-08 slower than Sharp.

And Sarah Lewthwaite, the 44-year-old Team Sportslab rider from Leeds, was fastest female with a time of 38-15, which was exactly one minute quicker than second-placed Maria Mulleady (Team Swift), while Hannah Benson (Ilkley CC) was another eight seconds back in third.

Lewthwaite’s time was 56 seconds quicker than the same event in 2017, where she could only place fourth in a highly competitive field.

The promoting club provided the fastest junior in Nathan Page, the 15-year-old East Bradford CC rider clocking 42-12 to win that category by almost a minute.

Sharp has been in good form in 2018, although this was only his second open victory of the season so far.

He won the Ilkley CC 10 back in March, but has several other podium finishes including second spot in the Yorkshire CF 10 (twice!), the Harrogate Nova 15, the Selby CC 10 and the Bridlington CC 25.

The V221 course takes riders from Grafton to Cowthorpe, although headquarters is the other side of the A1 at Arkendale. After starting just before the A168, riders turn south on that road and track south alongside the A1, turning at Walshford and returning north.

Conditions stayed dry, although a headwind on the return leg meant that times generally were down with the 2017 event being won by Adam Duggleby two minutes faster than Sharp’s winning time this year.

The popular event attracted many riders, with the youngest being 13, the oldest 82 – and entrants from every decade in between!

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Position    Name        club  Time

1     Richard     Sharp Team Swift  32.03

2     Ian   Mitchelson  Albarosa CC 32.43

3     Duncan      Mullier     Harrogate Nova CC 33.11

4     Peter Watson      Harrogate Nova CC 33.13

5     Paul  Thirling    Hartlepool CC     33.27

6     Levi  Moody Giant Halifax  Race Team      33.33

7     Anthony     Ashworth    Wetherby Whs      33.38

8     Stu   Wood  Harrogate Nova CC 34.18

9     Chris Myhill      Peak Road Club    34.38

10    Mark  Johnson     Yorkshire Road Club     34.46

11    Craig Moody VTTA (Yorkshire)  34.51

12    Ged   Millward    Ilkley CC   34.55

13    David Leckenby    Ilkley CC   35.20

14    Andrew      Askwith     Bridlington CC    35.24

15    Richard     Hand  Halifax Imperial Wheelers     35.36

16    Roger Bromiley    Harrogate Nova CC 35.59

17    Greg  Kershaw     Drighlington BC   36.54

18    Stewart     Pickard     Vive Le Velo      37.05

19    Alex  Stephenson-Brown  AeroCoach   37.30

20    Sarah Lewthwaite  Team Sportslab    38.15

21    Walter      Wilkinson   Harrogate Nova CC 38.31

22    Andrew      Lambe Ilkley CC   38.31

23    Sam   Leng  Malton Whs  38.46

25    Paul  Page  East Bradford CC  39.03

26    Cliff Beldon      Selby CC    39.15

27    Maria Mulleady    Team Swift  39.15

28    Hannah      Benson      Ilkley CC   39.23

29    James       Asquith     Ravensthorpe CC   40.13

29    Kevin Melia VC Bradford 40.19

30    Steven      Woodrup     Yorkshire Road Club     40.31

31    Paul  Brierley    Huddersfield RC   40.52

32    Claire      Jessop      Otley CC    41.01

33    Phil  Wright      Hartlepool CC     41.18

34    Nathan      Page  East Bradford CC  42.12

35    Mike  Cole  Huddersfield RC   42.53

36    Timothy     Lane  Kirklees Cycling Academy      43.1

37    Gill  Crane Harrogate Nova CC 43.19

38    Richard     Watson      East Bradford CC  43.3

39    David Lane  Ravensthorpe CC   44.17

40    John  Hatfield    Ravensthorpe CC   44.28

41    Chris Parker      East Bradford CC  46.08

42    Richard     Haigh Holme Valley Whs  46.1

43    Anna  Hull  East Bradford CC  46.28

44    John  Baines      Yorkshire Road Club     46.43

45    Amber Hull  East Bradford CC  48.47

46    Francis     Evans Hannay      East Bradford CC  50.3

47    Brenda      Littlefair  East Bradford CC  58.07

48    Keith Alderson    Cleveland Wheelers CC   DNS

49    Ted   Scurr Hartlepool CC     DNS

50    Alan Lang Hartlepool CC     DNS

51    Mark  Heeles      Ravensthorpe CC   DNS