Ilkley CC (Yorkshire Spoco Event)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Mar-18
  • Time: 09:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: v810
  • Closing Date: 17-Mar-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Sharp and Benson victorious in West Yorkshire

  • Published: 25 Mar 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Richard Sharp.

Richard Sharp (Team Swift) took his first victory of the season in the lumpy Ilkley CC 10-mile time trial in West Yorkshire on Sunday.

The 35-year-old from Hayton in East Yorkshire finished second in the Harrogate Nova CC 15 and Yorkshire CF 10 earlier this month but his time of 24 minutes and 32 seconds was enough to take the win this week.

He finished 37 seconds clear of Philip Graves (NOPINZ) in second while Mark Haydock (North Lancashire RC) took third exactly a minute behind the winner.

“It didn’t go too badly and I can’t complain as I won,” said Sharp. “It was a bit of a head wind to the second turn but from there back it was pretty quick with a tailwind which gave me a reasonable push.

“It was a fairly lumpy course with three or four kicks which I was probably in my lowest gear up. The event is something different than I’m used to riding but it was a nice change to ride a course with some ups and downs.

Hannah Benson.

“It was different from powering along the flat.”

Sharp who finished 43rd in the National 25 Championships last year has his sights set on the National 10-Mile Championships this campaign.

In a closely fought women’s category host club rider Hannah Benson was the fastest finishing in 30.26 ahead of Sian Randall (Team Jadan-Weldtite) in second clocking 30.37.

Nicola Forwood (Albarosa CC) was the quickest non-aero woman in 33.53

Fastest veteran on standard was Blair Buss (Halifax Imperial Whls) while Russell Brown (Yorkshire RC) was the quickest man in non-aero kit finishing in 27.23.




1 Richard Sharp (Team Swift)            24.32

2 Philip Graves (NOPINZ)     25.09

3 Mark Haydock (North Lancashire RC)       25.32

4 Ian Mitchelson (Albarosa CC)         26.09

5 Peter Nixon (Seacroft Whls)            26.11

6 Blair Buss (Halifax Imperial Whls)  26.18

7 Anthony Ashworth (Wetherby Whls)         26.31

8 Matt Stell (Springfield Financial RT)          26.47

9 Ben Stead (Halifax Imperial Whls) 26.59

10 Toby Cowell (Cambridge University CC) 27.14

Women: Hannah Benson (Ilkley CC) 30.26