stowmarket & dcc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-Aug-17
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: b10/36r
  • Closing Date: 25-Jul-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Chapman and Hurren take victories in the Stowmarket 10

  • Published: 06 Aug 17
F | T | G+
Lloyd Chapman.

Lloyd Chapman (Banks/Catford CC Equipe) and Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Cycle Sport) were victorious in perfect conditions for the Stowmarket and District CC 10.

Local rider Chapman, 27 and from Martlesham, came back from illness to take the overall victory in a time of 19 minutes and 55 seconds, some 44 seconds slower than his course record last year.

Hurren, who won the Kings Lynn 25 the previous day, set a new women’s course record of 23.44, beating the previous time by four seconds.

The flat course saw riders travel on an out and back course between Wickham Market and Woodbridge along the A12.

Veteran rider Mark Arnold (CC Desiragear) came closest to Chapman but had to settle for second in 20.26, while Simon Hance (Ipswich BC) finished third in 20.45.

“It was very good conditions and everybody I knew there had beaten their personal best,” said Chapman.

“Despite being slower than last year I’m still happy to get the win as it’s a local course for me. I haven’t been going that well so it was a good test for me.

“I put being slower down to shaking a bit of flu over the last few weeks but I’m happy to get the win.”

Hurren broke the women’s course record which had stood since 1995 in a victorious weekend for the veteran rider.

She wasn’t the only person to take a course record as tandem pairing Gary Pamment and Barry McDonald (Velo Schils Interbike RT) clocked a 21.09 to smash the previous tandem record of 22.06.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Lloyd Chapman (Banks/Catford CC Equipe) 19.55

2 Mark Arnold (CC Desiragear) 20.26

3 Simon Hance (Ipswich BC) 20.45

4 Ben Stancombe (Kings Lynn CC) 20.49

5 Andy Proffitt (Ipswich BC) 20.56

6 Matt o'Brien (Plomesgate CC) 21.00

7 Stuart Fairweather (Team Velo Velocity) 21.15

8 Stuart Weatherley (Colchester Rovers CC) 21.31

9 Paul Jay (Team Velo Velocity) 21.36

10 Martin Reynolds (Cambridge CC) 21.43

Woman: Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Cycle Sport) 23.44

Tandem: Gary Pamment and Barry McDonald (Velo Schils Interbike RT) 21.09