RTTC National Championship (Men)(Closed Circuit)(Antelope RT)(entries close 4/10/2016)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 16-Oct-16
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 11 Miles
  • Course: P/THRUXTON
  • Closing Date: 04-Oct-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Teasdale makes it two at Thruxton

  • Published: 16 Oct 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Josh Teasdale (Prorace Cycling Team) successfully reclaimed his National Closed Circuit Time Trial champion’s title on Sunday.

The 2014 champion stormed round the Thruxton Motor Racing Circuit in a time of 23.03, beating his nearest rival Matt Smith (Team Bottrill) by six seconds. Smith’s team mate John Dewey clocked 23.18 to complete the podium in the men’s event.

Last year’s third placed rider Dean Robson (Nopinz) couldn’t improve on his previous podium position and completed the five lap, 11.7 mile course in a time of 23.38 for fourth place.

Last man off and second-placed rider in 2015, Chris Fennell (Thanet RC), one of the riders tipped to take the title in a wide open race, slipped back to equal fifth with David Crawley (Velotik RT). Both riders stopped the clock at 23.49

Emma Lewis (Adalta CC) claimed her 2016 title with just four seconds in hand over second placed rider Kate Allen (Drag2Zero). Lewis clocked 26.08, compared to Allen’s time of 26.12. SSLL RT’s Mel Wasley was unable to go one better than her second place last year, recording 27.03 for bronze medal position.

With the weather gradually improving throughout the day, the later starting senior riders generally enjoyed racing in dry and bright conditions. But conditions earlier in the morning were horrendous for the Junior riders, who had to cope with torrential rain and cool temperatures.

Henrietta Colborne (Tean Jadan) battled with the wet conditions to record 28.08, the 2014 winner taking her second Junior title by a single second from i-Team-CC’s Caitlin Peters. Anna Henderson (Lovelo Cinelli RT) took third spot with 28.21.

Eugene Cross (SSLL RT) clocked 24.24 to claim his Junior title by a more comfortable margin over Samuel Wadsley (Poole Wheelers), who clocked 25.06 for silver medal position, with Lewis Askey (RST RT) finishing very close behind in third spot with 25.07.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name        Club  Time

1     Josh Teasdale     Prorace Cycling Team    23.03
2     Matthew Smith     Team Bottrill     23.09
3     John Dewey  Team Bottrill     23.18
4     Dean Robson Nopinz      23.38
5     David Crawley     Velotik RT  23.49
=     Christopher Fennell     Thanet RC
7     Robert Moore      Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT    24.02
8     George Evans      Team Bottrill     24.06
9     Johnathan Wears   SSLL RT     24.09
10    James Mapley      Blazing Saddles   24.11
=     Jamie Pine  Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT

1     Emma Lewis  Adalta CC   26.08
2     Kate Allen  Drag2Zero   26.12
3     Mel Wasley  SSLL RT     27.03
4     Helen McKay Les Filles RT     27.23
5     Fiona Prew  Pro Vision Cycle Clothing     27.33
6     Alice Lethbridge   Starley Racing    27.44
7     Sarah Matthews    a3crg 27.46
8     Emily Mcloughlin  East Grinstead Tri Club 27.56
9     Melanie Sneddon   Torq Performance  28.00
10    Sophie Household  SSLL RT     28.17

1     Eugene Cross      SSLL RT     24.24
2     Samuel Wadsley    Poole Wheelers    25.06
3     Lewis Askey RST RT      25.07

1     Henrietta Colborne      Tean Jadan  28.08
2     Caitlin Peters    i-Team CC   28.09
3     Anna Henderson    Lovelo Cinelli RT 28.21