Cleveland Coureurs / VTTA (North)(All Ages)(Entries Close 30/06/24)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 07-Jul-24
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: T102
  • Closing Date: 30-Jun-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Smith and Pease go quickest in Cleveland Coureurs/VTTA North 10

  • Published: 07 Jul 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Josie Smith. Photo by Bethany Brooksbank

Despite having not competed on the course before Josie Smith led a one-two for Trek Sheffield in the Cleveland Coureurs VTTA North 10 women’s event, while Ben Pease (Moonglu CC) went quickest in the open.

Smith, aged 38, took her second open victory from as many rides this season recording a time of 23 minutes and 25 seconds.

The T102 course saw competitors start outside Crathorne before heading out and back along the A19 to the turn at Tontine Interchange.

Conditions were dry but a breeze from the south made for a tough outward leg and a tail/cross wind on the way back.

Despite the breezy conditions there were no non-starters from the 41 entries.

Trek Sheffield rider Smith, from Barnsley, also won the VTTA (Yorkshire) 10 last weekend and continued her winning streak.

Road bike competitor Bethany Brooksbank made it a good day for Trek Sheffield winning the category and finishing runner-up overall in 23-56.

Completing the overall podium positions was quickest veteran Sarah Foulds (Team VC) who finished in 25-40.

Meanwhile, junior female competitor Sophie Heighton (Ferryhill Wheelers) completed the course in 27-19.

“I’ve never done this course before so didn’t know what to expect,” said Smith.

“I wasn’t feeling great after a busy week so found it really hard to get my power up on the way out, which felt pretty slow as I think there was more uphill and into a cross head wind.

“It felt faster on the way back but I never seemed to make up the time I’d lost going out, so it was quite a lot slower than my time from last week at the V210.

“I’m happy to take the win though and with my team-mate Bethany close behind me getting an amazing time on the road bike in her first 10.”

Pre-race Spindata favourite Pease was the only rider to break the 20-minute barrier clocking a winning time of 19-19.

The 26-year-old Moonglu CC rider, from Carthorpe, also won the Cleveland Whs CC sporting event over 17.6 miles last month and tasted victory once again on this occasion.

A close battle behind saw veteran David Glew (FTP Fulfil the Potential Race Team) clock 20-54 which was two seconds faster than Matt Hill (Zurbaran Racing) (20-56).

Hill was also the best veteran on age adjusted time in 18-42 which was just eight seconds quicker than the adjusted time of Russ Richardson (Zurbaran Racing) in 18-50.

“I'd say I really enjoyed today, a lovely, friendly event,” said Pease. “I locked myself out of my car after the race and some very friendly and generous competitors helped me out.

“I feel like I'm getting my time trial legs back, my numbers are getting a bit closer to the road bike - my main focus is road racing but a gap in the calendar means I have had a bit more time to get out on the time trial bike and this was the best time trial I've had in a while.

“I'll hopefully get another event in before Lancaster GP, maybe a few more later in the year too.

“I'm hoping to really get some good work in on the time trial bike over winter too and do more next year!”

In the road bike category veteran Chris Dyke (Team Lifting Gear Products) took his fifth open category win of the season in 21-19.

Female rider Brooksbank was second road bike overall in 23-56 and Paul Felce (Team VC) was third in the category (24-58).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1. Ben Pease (Moonglu CC)   19.19

2. David Glew (FTP Fulfil the Potential Race Team) 20.54

3. Matt Hill (Zurbaran Racing)           20.56

4. Michael Sloanes (Team VC)          21.03

5. Ben Hetherington (HUUB WattShop)        21.06

6. John Hewison (Zurbaran Racing)   21.16


1. Josie Smith (Trek Sheffield)           23.25

2. Bethany Brooksbank (Trek Sheffield)        23.56

3. Sarah Foulds (Team VC)    25.40

Juniors: Sophie Heighton (Ferryhill Wheelers)          27.19

Road Bikes:

1. Chris Dyke (Team Lifting Gear Products)  21.19

2. Bethany Brooksbank (Trek Sheffield)        23.56

3. Paul Felce (Team VC)        24.58

Veterans on age adjusted time:

1. Matt Hill (Zurbaran Racing)           18.42

2. Russ Richardson (Zurbaran Racing)           18.50