Cambridge CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 27-Apr-24
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 15 Miles
  • Course: F2/15
  • Closing Date: 16-Apr-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Atkins and Semple victorious at Cambridge CC 15

  • Published: 28 Apr 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Leon Atkins. Photos by Davey Jones.

Talented teenager Leon Atkins earned a second consecutive win with success at Cambridge Cycling Club 15-mile time trial on Saturday afternoon, while Susan Semple was fastest female.

Riding for 258 Protégé, 15-year-old Atkins clocked 27-28 to continue his fine rise, registering what is thought to be the second-fastest ever time on the course behind Marcin Biabolocki.

VeloRefined Rule 5’s Kevin Tye took second place in 30-29, ahead of third-placed Myles Davidson for Bigfoot CC in 30-48.

In his only other event this year, Atkins also won the Hemel Hempstead CC 16-mile time trial on March 24.

In the women’s event Semple set a mark of 35-01 that saw the Legato Race Team rider clinch victory ahead of Jen Clegg (Team Bottrill) in 36-47, with Helen Roby (Ride Revolution Coaching) third in 37-26.

“In terribly cold conditions I was really pleased to be fastest woman and also achieving a lifetime 15-mile personal best,” said Semple.

“I changed my training over the winter and focused more on my nutrition and hydration which seems to be paying off. It was a great event, big thanks to Chris and his team.”

Susan Semple

Fastest tandem went to Newbury Velo pair Rachel Elliott and Ian Greenstreet in 28-49, with John Swanbury and Kate Churchill runners-up for VC Baracchi in 36-22.

Quickest on age adjusted time in +7-30 was Chris Dyason (Cambridge CC).

Riders faced another cold day with a breeze from the north east which proved favourable for this course. 

Light rain showers were a feature of the day, just adding to the discomfort but the air pressure was low so times generally were a little faster than Spindata’s predictions.

This event, run on the F2/15 course, is an out-and-back course that starts just north of Cambourne on St Neots Road, heading west then turning and heading eastbound until reaching the A1303 roundabout and returning westbound, reaching Caxton Gibbet to then return and finish just east of the start line.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by James Ayles.

Elliott and Greenstreet



1. Leon Atkins (258 Protégé)  27.28

2. Kevin Tye (VeloRefined Rule 5)    30.29

3. Myles Davidson (Bigfoot CC)       30.48

4. Richard Harrison (DRAG2ZERO) 31.01

5. Darran Bennett (Ely & District CC)           31.11

6. Mark Hamer (Legato Racing Team)           31.14


1. Susan Semple (Legato Race Team)            35.01

2. Jen Clegg (Team Bottrill)    36.47

3. Helen Roby (Ride Revolution Coaching)   37.26

4. Joy Payne (VTTA London & Home Counties) 38.01

5. Ann Shuttleworth (Cambridge CC)            38.30

6. Eva Zsigoola (VeloRefined Rule 5)            39.57