Chichester City Riders

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 09-Jun-24
  • Time: 07:31
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: P884B/25
  • Closing Date: 28-May-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Maybank and Turner triumph at Chichester City Riders 25

  • Published: 09 Jun 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Liam Maybank. Photos by @max_photography201

Liam Maybank equalled his own course record on his way to winning the open category at the Chichester City Riders 25-mile time trial in Hampshire on Sunday morning, with Anita Turner triumphing in the women’s event.

Riding for Twickenham Cycling Club, Maybank posted 48-02 to match his 2019 course record performance and take a third win from five rides so far this campaign, having won at Sussex CA 25 on May 5 and then again at the Eastern Counties CA 50-Mile Championship.

In the women’s event, Turner’s time of 1:08-46 helped the Eastbourne Rovers CC rider to top spot, although not challenging Jennfier George’s course record of 54-13, with Portsmouth North Road Club’s Rachael Lamon second in 1:15-22.

On his victory, Maybank said: “It was a breezy morning where the wind took more than it gave, looked for a while like it might be quite fast, but the last downhill leg was unusually slow for everyone.

“It is a great course and I’m glad it is back in use again and it is good to get another win.”

Anita Turner

Paceline RT’s Paul Burton was 89 seconds back in second, narrowly edging Howard Shaw (trainSharp) into third and the final spot on the podium in 49-41.

Burton was also quickest road bike in the open category, ahead of Brett Wheeler (Poole Wheelers Cycling Club) in 52-14 and third-placed Scott Leeson (Onyx RT) in 53-00.

This event, run on the P884B/25 course, is an out-and-back circuit that starts in Longmoor Ranges just south of Bordon and snakes southbound through Liss and then Petersfield, reaching the A3 junction then looping back and following the course back northbound, continuing past the start line to Bramshott junction, turning again then finishing just north of the start line.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by James Ayles.



Paul Burton


1. Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) 48.02

2. Paul Burton (Paceline RT)  49.31

3. Howard Shaw (trainSharp)  49.41

4. Peter Allan (Team Velo Sportif)      49.45

5. Howard Bayley (…a3crg)   49.56

6. Pat Wright (Paceline RT)    50.46

7. Aaron Borrill (Farnborough & District Wheelers)  51.27

8. Keith Lea (Paceline RT)     51.40

9. Brett Wheelers (Poole Wheelers Cycling Club)     52.14

10. Neil Mackley (…a3crg)    52.20


1. Anita Turner (Eastbourne Rovers CC)       1:08.46

2. Rachael Lamont (Portsmouth North Road Club)   1:15.22