Cardiff 100 Miles RCC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Mar-24
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 15 Miles
  • Course: R15/5
  • Closing Date: 19-Mar-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Chapman and Wyatt take victories at Cardiff 100 Miles RCC 15

  • Published: 31 Mar 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Emma Wyatt. Photo by NTF Performance Photography.

Scratch rider Tony Chapman (Frome and District Wheelers) and Emma Wyatt (Hereford & Dist Wheelers) won the open and women’s events respectively at the Cardiff 100 Miles RCC 15.

Meanwhile, the quickest road bike competitors were Rob Cowell (Ogmore Valley Wheelers) and Rosie May-Bennett (Tri Logic Cornwall).

The R15/5 saw riders compete on the A40 out and back course between Abergavenny and Raglan in South Wales.

The weather for the event was fine with sunny intervals and a gentle southerly wind which was mostly a crosswind.

The temperature was also good for the early season event and into double digits.

Despite the reasonable day for the R15/5 nobody threatened the course records held by Christopher Gibbard (28-58) and Hayley Simmonds (30-55).

Chapman, from Warminster, was predicted to lead the way by Spindata and so it proved with the 52-year-old posting a winning time of 30 minutes and 45 seconds.

Fellow veteran Daniel Wyatt (Hereford & Dist Wheelers) won the Cardiff 100 Miles RCC event last month but had to settle for runner-up on this occasion in 31-01.

Completing the time trial podium positions was Dan Kingston (FTP Fulfil The Potential Race Team) who stopped the clock in 31-37.

“It was colder and windier than I thought,” said Chapman. “I was pretty pleased with my time as I’ve had a couple of weeks off on holiday.

“I’ll be riding the local hard-riders series this season and a few in South Wales.

“This one is quite a nice course with a gift downhill to start followed by a relatively flat dual carriageway out and back.

“It’s a course I’ve done a number of times but never over 15 miles. I’m returning to South Wales for the R25/7 event in two weeks’ time and then a couple of local hard-riders events.”

In the women’s event Emma Wyatt (Hereford & Dist Wheelers) secured her second open time trial victory of the season stopping the clock in 34-41 – two minutes faster than her nearest competitor.

Emma Bexson (Stratford Cycling Club) finished second in 36-45, while Emma Davies (Port Talbot Wheelers) placed third woman in 37-41.

Port Talbot Wheelers (John Aspell, Graham Rogerson, Emma Davies) took the prize for fastest team on aggregate time with 1-39-43, beating second place Cardiff Ajax CC by around eight minutes (though two of the three counting Ajax riders were on road bikes).

Finishing in fifth place overall Rob Cowell (Ogmore Valley Wheelers) was a clear winner in the road bike category stopping the clock in 32-37.

Neil Poulton (Cardiff Ajax CC) finished second in 37-41 a further minute ahead of team-mate Reuben Keating who was third road bike (38-55).

The women’s road bike category was closely fought with Rosie May-Bennett (Tri Logic Cornwall) finishing in 40-45 which was just two seconds quicker than Andrea Parish (VeloSistas TT Team), while Charlotte Mead (Monmouthshire Wheelers) finished third (41-52).

Gloucester City CC fielded the only team in the two-up event, with Roger Whittle and Tony Lake posting a time of 35-28.

Meanwhile, sole tricycle competitor Wayne Baker (Team Echelon) posted a time of 42-48.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Tony Chapman (Frome and District Wheelers)         30.45
2 Daniel Wyatt (Hereford & Dist Wheelers)                  31.01
3 Dan Kingston (FTP Fulfil the Potential Race Team)  31.37
4 Paul Hayward (Pontypool Road Cycling Club)          32.30
5 Rob Cowell (Ogmore Valley Wheelers)                     32.37
6 John Aspell (Port Talbot Whs CC)                             32.55

Team:  Port Talbot Wheelers (John Aspell, Graham Rogerson, Emma Davies)

1 Emma Wyatt (Hereford & Dist Whs CC)          34.41
2 Emma Bexson (Stratford Cycling Club)           36.45
3 Emma Davies (Port Talbot Wheelers)              37.41
4 Joy Payne (VTTA London & Home Cos)          38.59
5 Rosie May-Bennett (RB) (Tri Logic Cornwall)  40.45
6 Andrea Parish (RB) (VeloSistas TT Team)       40.47

Road bikes Open:
1 Rob Cowell (Ogmore Valley Wheelers)         32.37
2 Neil Poulton (Cardiff Ajax CC)                        37.41
3 Reuben Keating (Cardiff Ajax CC)                  38.55
4 Eamonn Sheridan (Warwickshire Road Club) 50.02

Road bikes Women:
1 Rosie May-Bennett (Tri Logic Cornwall)         40.45
2 Andrea Parish (VeloSistas TT Team)              40.47
3 Charlotte Mead (Monmouthshire Wheelers)   41.52
4 Cassia Copeland (Cardiff Ajax CC)                 45.28

Tricycle: Wayne Baker (Team Echelon)            42.48

Two-up: Roger Whittle & Tony Lake (Gloucester City Cycling Club)         35.28