Macclesfield Wheelers (Cheshire Points Series 4 of 20)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 20-Apr-24
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: J2/9
  • Closing Date: 09-Apr-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Macclesfield Wheelers 25 triumph for Parkin and Birrell

  • Published: 21 Apr 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
David Parkin

David Parkin earned a first solo win of the season at Macclesfield Wheelers 25-mile time trial on Saturday afternoon, with Anna Birrell finishing as quickest female.

Riding for Velotik Racing Team, Parkin defied pre-race Spindata predictions to win by 29 seconds in 51-51, ahead of the 52-20 set by David James Williams (Velotik Racing Team) while ADDFORM Vive Le Velo’s Jozsef Owen took the final spot on the podium in 52-49, narrowly ahead of fourth-placed Lewis Eccleston (Manchester Triathlon Club) who was just four seconds back in 52-53.

Parkin was helped by the withdrawal of pre-race favourite and international competitor Charlie Tanfield as one of nine riders who did not start, with two more failing to finish.

Having won the Crewe Clarion Wheelers 15-mile two-up on March 31, Parkin can now add individual success this season – his first since winning at the Congleton CC 50-mile time trial in July 2023.

On his win, Parkin said: “I am happy with my performance but relatively surprised at same time.

“Cycling has taken a back seat for the past eight months, and having just kickstarted my training with a week-long training camp in Malaga I was feeling very sore beforehand.

“The weather was perfect, low wind, sun shining, and roads dry.

“I set off hard and felt strong. Luckily I got a clean run on the J2/9, which isn’t always possible.

“I had zero expectations, and somehow took the win which I’m really happy with.”

There was also success for Chris McDonald (PDQ Cycle Coaching) and Adam Duggleby (ADDFORM Vive Le Velo) as fastest on a tandem in an impressive time of 48-13.

In the women’s race, Birrell (Total Tri Training) managed 59-38 for top placing, while Alice Taylor (Congleton CC – MyWindsock) was second in 1:00-33, and a time of 1:05-38 helping Stratford Cycling Club’s Emma Bexson clinch third.

On her win, Birrell said: “I was delighted with my ride yesterday. Breaking the hour mark for the first time was unexpected, but a great boost in confidence after a long winter of indoor training.

“I also want to say a big thank you to Macclesfield Wheelers for hosting such a welcoming event.

“Next on my agenda is the 10-mile J4/20 on May 4th, which will contribute to my preparation for Ironman 70.3 Bolton at the end of June.

“Myself, and a group of us from Total Tri Training, firmly believe in using local time trials to lay the foundation for the triathlon season.

“They are low-cost fun, and provide invaluable learning opportunities, such as testing equipment, improving technical skills like cornering, and reviewing race photos to refine positioning.”

This event, run on course J2/9, is a looped circuit that starts in Jodrell Bank and heads northbound on the A535, curving northeast at the junction with the A357 and past Chelford and Marthall then at Ollerton turning southeast, before going southbound at Holmes Chapel Road through Allostock then Cranage, eastwards onto Twemlow Green to continue onto complete the first loop before continuing for another half-loop and finish just north of Allostock.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by James Ayles.




1. David Parkin (Velotik Racing Team)          51.51

2. David James Williams (Velotik Racing Team)       52.20

3. Jozsef Owen (ADDFORM Vive Le Velo)  52.49

4. Lewis Eccleston (Manchester Triathlon Club)       52.53

5. Tony Cullen (TricentralUK)            53.31

6. Chris Standlidge (Total Tri Training)          53.41

7. Alastair Ribbands (Congleton CC – MyWindsock)            53.42

8. Bradley Murphy (Chorlton Velo)    54.15

9. Louis Thomas-Messenger (Macclesfield Wheelers)           55.20

10. Mark Parsons (Team ASL-Bolton)           55.42


1. Anna Birrell (Total Tri Training)     59.38

2. Alice Taylor (Congleton CC – MyWindsock)        1:00.33

3. Laura Gray (Total Tri Training)1:00.37

4. Jessica Denman (Ilkeston Cycle Club)       1:04.29

5. Gail Lowe (Congleton CC – MyWindsock)           1:04.30

6. Emma Bexson (Stratford Cycling Club)    1:05.38

7. Katherine Swithenbank (360cycling)         1:06/21

8. Lynsey Astles (Congleton CC – MyWindsock)      1:10.31

9. Tracy Gregory (Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles)     1:18.00

10. Emily Hilley (Dukinfield Cyclists’ Club) 1:18.31