Manchester Bicycle Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Apr-24
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: J10/1
  • Closing Date: 19-Mar-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Manchester BC 10 wins for Astles and Owen

  • Published: 01 Apr 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Lynsey Astles. Photo de Sport.

Jozsef Owen notched up his second win of the season at the Manchester Bicycle Club 10 on Easter Monday, while Congleton CC’s Lynsey Astles was fastest female in the event near Buxworth in Derbyshire.

Owen, who won the Birkenhead North End CC 22-mile event on Good Friday, made it two wins for the weekend with victory in the Manchester BC event, clocking 19-44 to be the only rider under 20 minutes and take the win by 41 seconds.

Second spot went to Congleton CC-MyWindsock rider Alastair Ribbands in 20-25, with the final podium place being taken by the promoting club’s own Alistair Rutherford, who was another 45 seconds off the pace.

Astles covered the course in 26-37 to win by over two and a half minutes from Buxton CC rider Tracey Gregory in 29-15, with third being her Congleton CC team-mate Alison Stephenson in 29-45.

The course uses the A6 Chapel-on-le-Frith bypass near Whaley Bridge.

Astles, who is next in action at the Manchester and District TTA 10-mile event on Saturday, said: “I’m really pleased to have secured the win today. Having felt a bit lacklustre so early in the season, it was a welcome boost.

“The rain was more forgiving than forecast, and the army of marshals made for a protected ride for all competitors - Whilst my time was well off previous performances on the course I was very happy with how I executed the race. More to give…”

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A gallery of images from this event is available here



1st - Jozsef Owen (ADDFORM Vive Le Velo) - 19:44

2nd - Alastair Ribbands (Congleton Cycling Club - MyWindsock) - 20:25

3rd - Alistair Rutherford (Manchester Bicycle Club) - 21:10


1st - Lynsey Astles (Congleton Cycling Club - MyWindsock) - 26:37

2nd - Tracey Gregory (Buxton Cycling Club/Sett Valley Cycles) - 29:15

3rd - Alison Stephenson (Congleton Cycling Club - MyWindsock) - 29:45