Crewe Clarion Wheelers

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 31-Mar-24
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 15 Miles
  • Course: J8/2R
  • Closing Date: 19-Mar-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Morris and Cunliffe go quickest in Crewe Clarion Wh 15

  • Published: 01 Apr 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Sally Cunliffe

Matt Morris (Wigan Wheelers) and Sally Cunliffe (Velotik Racing Team) took clear victories in the Crewe Clarion Wheelers hilly event over 15 miles, while Steven Fidler (Velo6 Racing) was the quickest road bike.

Meanwhile, the two-up team time trial event was won by the Velotik Racing Team pair of Toby Williams and David Parkin. 

Despite the J8/2R course near Nantwich being shortened by 1.5 miles due to flooding good conditions greeted riders on Sunday morning.

The triangle shaped course saw competitors head out to Audlem on the A529 before a lumpy section over to Woore and then the final leg on the A51 back to the finish.

After winning the Border City Wheelers CC hilly event over 20.2 miles last weekend Morris was again victorious over the lumpy terrain clocking a time of 33-56.

The battle for second overall could not have been closer with Alastair Ribbands (Congleton CC – MyWindsock) and road bike rider Steven Fidler (Velo6 Racing) both stopping the clock in exactly 34-35.

“It was a good sunny day with a bit of a breeze at the top of the course,” said Morris. “There was quite a few lumps, a good course which seems uphill for most of it but nothing too steep.

“It was good to get the win, I was happy with it. I’ve got the Circuit of the Dales next week so I’m hoping for a decent ride there.

“I’m pleased with my form. I’m going pretty well.”

In the women’s event veteran Sally Cunliffe (Velotik Racing Team) stopped the clock in a winning time of 45-23 which was over a minute clear of her nearest challenger.

Road bike competitor Clare Spencer (Newcastle (Staffs) Tri Club) finished second woman overall in 46-46, while Caroline Wrench (Crewe Clarion Wheelers) was third (51-17).

Fidler took his second road bike category win of the season finishing ahead of Congleton CC – MyWindsock team-mates Mark Lovatt (35-36) and Chris Spencer (37-31) in second and third respectively.

In the two-up team time trial event Williams and Parkin were clear winners stopping the clock in 32-27.

Chris Siepen/Matthew Siepen (Seamons CC) finished second in 37-08 ahead of David James Williams/Adrian Thorpe (Velotik Racing Team) in third (38-05).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

1 Matt Morris (Wigan Wheelers)        33.56
=2 Alastair Ribbands (Congleton CC – MyWindsock)          34.35
=2 Steven Fidler (Velo6 Racing)        34.35
4 Paul Lawton (ADDFORM Vive Le Velo)  34.42
5 Jemil Tokdemir (Spectrum Racing) 35.17
6 Mark Lovatt (Congleton CC – MyWindsock)         35.36

1 Sally Cunliffe (Velotik Racing Team)         45.23
2 Clare Spencer (Newcastle (Staffs) Tri Club)           46.46
3 Caroline Wrench (Crewe Clarion Wheelers)           51.17

Road bike
1 Steven Fidler (Velo6 Racing)          34.35
2 Mark Lovatt (Congleton CC – MyWindsock)         35.36
3 Chris Spencer (Congleton CC – MyWindsock)       37.31
4 Jimmy Froggatt (SKCC)     39.42
5 Jack Page (Crewe Clarion Wheelers)          39.50
6 Matt Page (Crewe Clarion Wheelers)          41.36

Woman: Clare Spencer (Newcastle (Staffs) Tri Club)           46.46

2-up TTT
1 Toby Williams/David Parkin (Velotik Racing Team)          32.27
2 Chris Siepen/Matthew Siepen (Seamons CC)         37.08
3 David James Williams/Adrian Thorpe (Velotik Racing Team)                    38.05
4 Mark Astles (Pocomotion Road Club)/Graham Peel (Crewe Clarion Wheelers)    39.17
5 Mark Curley/Tim Whitefoot (Crewe Clarion Wheelers)     41.15